Can't recover from Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Shankle, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    515
    Thanks for any help.
    I have the free version of Macrium Reflect 6.2
    Running Windows 7 pro 64-bit

    One wonders why the Restore procedure is so difficult in Macrium reflect.
    I am the Administrator on this computer, Yet when I try to restore an image
    I get the stupid message that I do not have permission to restore an image.
    I tried restoring from Macrium Reflect and it did not work.
    I tried restoring from the PE rescue cd and it gave the administrator nonsense.

    Macrium Reflect is useless if you can not restore.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,556
    Well for me it has always been easy. More information on your setup and how you image will be necessary to help
     
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Also open main GUI, go to other tasks and click on view windows VSS events, just to see if there are any.
     
  4. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    515
    Thanks for your help.
    To boredog: no other tasks showed

    To Peter 2150:
    The Image I want to restore is on a 1T spinner.
    The SSD I want to overlay is about 256G.
    There is a running Windows version on the SSD
    that I want to overlay/wipe out.

    I am afraid to format the SSD and then run MR as
    I might wind up with nothing. To chancy.

    This is all caused by a program that I am writing.
    CC.dll is giving a message at compile time as follows:
    could not open an input file (CC.dll) needed for
    forced dll or import by ordinal. I assume the CC.dll
    is missing. I have searched for it and Windows can
    not find it. I have been working on this program for a
    short time and thought the CC.dll might not be missing
    or corrupted on a previous MR backup.
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Haven't used MR much at all. But my experience from a few imaging programs is if Recover to Dissimilar Hardware option is available I get much better results. Even if it's from the same hardware.
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,421
    Location:
    Here
    Strange that you couldn't restore form PE disk.
    If you mount backup image can you get to CC.dll file and copy it from image?
     
  7. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    916
    Maybe I'm mistaken but I don't think the free version of reflect can restore to dissimilar hardware.
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,133
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It cannot... and that's not the OP's problem, his problem is unique to his System. He might want to check to make sure he STILL HAS his Administrator privs.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.