Can't make image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by realdexter, Sep 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. realdexter

    realdexter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Last night I had another try to make an image of my c: partition and unfortunately it ended up with an error once again. It says Backup archive creation has been completed with errors. I use ATI Boot with full version. When I try to make an image of d: partition it works just fine. I have made lots of images from other computers without problems, just this one who wont word.

    Any ideas what is wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If it failed with the boot version then it is not a Windows OS conflict.

    Are you running the current version which for Home is build 3677?

    Do a chkdsk C: /r it will need to reboot to check the partition. Not a bad idea to run it on your destination drive as well, substitute its drive letter for C.
     
  3. realdexter

    realdexter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I'm running True Image 9.0 build 2.337. I bought a license for True Image 8.0 and had a free upgrade to the current version. Is it possible to upgrade one more time for free??

    I have just made a chkdsk c: /r with no error. Any other suggestions?
     
  4. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Can you access the log file and post what it says? Maybe that will help someone determine more about the error.
     
  5. realdexter

    realdexter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    How can I access the log file when I'm using boot cd?
     
  6. TryBackup

    TryBackup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    realdexter,

    I do not know if TI allows you to get more than one update after the v 8.0 to v9.0 free upgrade. If you can, I would do is to update to the current build #3677. After updating the software, I would create a new TI Rescue boot disk. My preference is to burn the TI boot disk files onto a CD instead of a DVD disk. Then I would try doing the images again.

    Have you tried doing a image of the entire disk (including all partitions)? If so, how did that go? What are you using as your destination (external drive, DVD, etc.)?

    Please write back with the results of your imaging after updating to the current build.

    Also, since I am not as experienced as many posters here, you may soon get better advice from more expereinced users.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If you obtained your upgrade and registered you should be able to download the updated builds for that version. If you aren't registered you may have to contact Acronis and explain your situation.

    Have you tried making an image from within Windows which will provide a log?

    Are you doing a validate right after creating the image? If so, try just making an image and see if you get the error message. Then do the Validate by itself. You can do this step using the boot CD and Windows versions.

    Run chkdsk X: /r on your archive destination drive. Substitute X for the partitiond drive letter. Not a bad idea to run it on all partitions if more than one.
     
  8. realdexter

    realdexter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I tried the Windows version a moment ago and here is what the log says:

    Operation with partition "C:" was terminated
    Details: Read error (0x70003)

    seekforever and TryBackup:
    I found the update at Acronis website, it's for free so I will check it out during the evening, you will get a report!

    Thanks very much for your help!
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I did a search of the forum for 0x70003 and it seems that some early versions of TI had this problem which was fixed in later versions. It is recommended by Acronis that you run chkdsk X: /r for ALL the partitions you have.
     
  10. realdexter

    realdexter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I finallly made it!!! I tried one more chkdsk c: /r, the first time I did it I think it went wrong. Chkdsk found a damaged cluster in a file which was repaired. I also upgraded True Image to build 3677. I dont know if it was the damagede file or the upgrade who made the success.

    Thank you all for the help!!
     
  11. TryBackup

    TryBackup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    63

    Congratulation! I am glad to hear that you are now able to create error-free images :)
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Great news! Problem most likely was the damaged cluster since the error is a "read error".
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.