Can't Log on Internet - keeps coming back (merged)

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by Duckwalk, May 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duckwalk

    Duckwalk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Can't Log on Internet

    Here is my Highjackthis log file. I have a network of 3 computers with cable internet service and the other computers can log on. Please Help! Thanks

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 12:55:41 PM, on 5/16/04
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.199:cool:
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDFWAG.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDIAG.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS1977\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.worldnet.att.net/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by AT&T WorldNet Service
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EM_EXEC] c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton eMail Protect] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POProxy.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CPQDFWAG] C:\WINDOWS\cpqdiag\CpqDfwAg.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CD17FAAA-17B4-4736-AAEF-436EDC304C8C} (ContentAuditX Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805/v00181/www.contentwatch.com/audit/ContentAuditControl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Re: Can't Log on Internet

    Hi Duckwalk,

    Actually there is nothing wrong with your log. maybe it would help if you posted the log for one of the other computers, so we can compare....

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. Duckwalk

    Duckwalk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Keeps Coming Back

    :'( I run Adware & SpyBot and post HighJackThis and you tell me what to take out, then runs good for a week and happens again. Like a fool I ran HighJackThis and took out some things myself. It ran good for 2 days now want even get on internet. I have a network of three computers and it just keeps happening to this one. I have been on the computer and all the sudden all this stuff starts loading.


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 12:55:41 PM, on 5/16/04
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.199:cool:
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDFWAG.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDIAG.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS1977\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.worldnet.att.net/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by AT&T WorldNet Service
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EM_EXEC] c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton eMail Protect] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POProxy.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    :'(
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CPQDFWAG] C:\WINDOWS\cpqdiag\CpqDfwAg.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CD17FAAA-17B4-4736-AAEF-436EDC304C8C} (ContentAuditX Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805/v00181/www.contentwatch.com/audit/ContentAuditControl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2004
  4. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Re: Can't Log on Internet (merged)

    Hi Duckwalk,

    I have merged your two threads together.

    The 2nd log you posted is identical to the first one. Even the scan times:

    Log 1.
    Scan saved at 12:55:41 PM, on 5/16/04
    Log 2.
    Scan saved at 12:55:41 PM, on 5/16/04

    I see for the reason you edited your 2nd post was to add, but I don't see what you added ??

    Could you be a bit more specific about what things you "took out yourself", and what keeps happening to your computer. What are the files that keep reloading?

    If you could do another scan with Hijackthis when these other things happen and load, it would definitely help us to find out what you are dealing with.

    Regards,

    snap
     
  5. Duckwalk

    Duckwalk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Keeps Coming Back

    :'( I ran adware & spyBot & Highjackthis & posted log. Then cleaned it up and everything worked fine for a week or 2. Then it all came back. How can I stop this from happening! (Unplug internet I guess) :D

    Heres my log file

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 12:55:41 PM, on 5/16/04
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.199:cool:
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDFWAG.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDIAG.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS1977\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.worldnet.att.net/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by AT&T WorldNet Service
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EM_EXEC] c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton eMail Protect] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POProxy.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CPQDFWAG] C:\WINDOWS\cpqdiag\CpqDfwAg.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CD17FAAA-17B4-4736-AAEF-436EDC304C8C} (ContentAuditX Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805/v00181/www.contentwatch.com/audit/ContentAuditControl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
     
  6. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    3rd thread merged

    Duckwalk, you have started 3 threads now and posting the same identical log in each one.

    The log is clean. Please see my above post, and do not start another thread. Click on the "Reply" button in this thread.

    snap
     
  7. Duckwalk

    Duckwalk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry I posted 3 threads but, when I went back to check the frist one it was gone so I posted again, then went back and again it was gone so I posted the third post. Sorry :(
     
  8. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Duckwalk, glad to see you've found you thread ok. :D

    Yes, it can get pretty busy in this particular forum and you may have to go to Page 2 or even 3 to find your thread. You could bookmark this thread which will help you relocate it quickly.

    Please do a new scan with HijackThis and post the log. Do not fix anything in it until advised.

    Thank you,

    snap
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.