Can't Install T I2009 over version 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SteveBov, Nov 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SteveBov

    SteveBov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I am attempting to install the new version on my system which has TI version 11 installed and operating. WHen I start the install it stops after a few seconds with the following message:"The older verson of this product cannot be removed because it seems to be corrupted". Any ideas? Thanks,

    Steve
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Have you tried un-installing the old version and re-installing the new version. The new version is a standalone upgrade and does not need any TI to be installed. You will need your serial number for installation.

    If that not successful, then I would un-install again and run the Acronis Cleanup tool available on download. A search should give you the link.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello SteveBov ,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    I would recommend you to do the following to uninstall Acronis True Image 11 Home:

    1.Completely uninstall Acronis True Image (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs).

    2.Delete all files in \Documents and Settings\[Account Name]\Local Settings\Temp\ folder by running Disk Cleanup wizard from the system drive (e.g. C:) Properties (remember to check the Temporary Files checkbox).

    3.Download the utility from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301/en-us, install and run it.

    4.Select the Acronis product and hit Remove.

    5.Install Acronis True Image Home 2009.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    And you might want to turn off your security software while installing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.