Can't Install NOD32!!

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by yeumyang, Dec 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Hi.

    Everytime I tried to install NOD32 I got the error message:

    " (111) Disk error, NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP - Base "

    My OS is WinXP SP1 - Korean version.
    What is the cause? Any help appreciated.

    taichi
     
  2. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi,
    Maybe the installer is damaged, try to download again NOD. In what languaje are you trying to install it?, trial or commercial version?
     
  3. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    English version - trial and commercial both!
    (I'm a trial user, but not an illegal user. I tried the commercial version just for testing the installer problem, using the Austrailian magagine ID/PASS).
    I even tried the update method to avoid the installer problem using the above ID/PASS. The signature files update has no problem, but the program components update has produced the same error (" return code 111 ").

    I think I met the same situation when upgrading from 2.000.3 to 2.000.6. Installer failed, but update succeeded at that time. So, I'm totally lost at this time. (BTW, the installers are 2.000.6 at both times, I think. So, I guess the problem started with the 2.000.6 installer.)

    Thanks.
     
  4. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Do you try to install it with admin rights?
    Is the first time that you install NOD32?
    Uninstall any other AntiVirus that you may have, and delete the C:\Program Files\ESET if exist, then restart and try again.
    A ESET moderator can help you better, because the code mean something.
     
  5. mrtwolman

    mrtwolman Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Posts:
    613
    Two questions:
    1. Do you have trial and retail installed on the same machine ?
    2. Did you remove the trial instalation before installing the retail NOD32 ?
     
  6. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    I installed with admin rights. It's not the first install of NOD32, but the installation of previous versions than 2.000.6 was fine.
    I have no AV other than NOD32, and I do a fresh installation when I try to install NOD32, i.e., uninstall previous NOD32 (regardless of trial or commercial) and check and delete the folder and the registry entries of Eset (and especially by imon) if there remained. BTW, I have a firewall, but I tried installation with the firewall disabled but ended in vain too.

    I've never experienced installation problems before, even with NOD32 itself like mentioned above, though these days I don't install that much programs and my system changes a lot.

    Thanks.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Hello,

    please make sure the system variables TMP and TEMP are actaully defined and the directories to which they point actaually exist and you are able to write into them. Right-click the My computer icon, select Properties, click Advanced, Environment variables - System variables (shown in the lower pane)
     
  8. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    The environment variables TMP & TEMP for both current user and system are correct and actually point to the same folder, and other programs enjoy it a lot. I wondered already about it since this temp folder locates on another disk, not just on another partition in the same disk even though there have been no problems with other programs and downloading update files for NOD32 goes fine :)I think nod32 uses temp folder while downloading update files). But I found out it's not the cause.

    BTW, could you tell me the names of the subfolders in NOD32 install directory? I deleted all the subfolders after installing and failed to install this time I can't recall the names except "updfiles".
    The reason why I ask is that I had a trouble even with signature file updates after deleting the subfolders and found out the cause was due to the missing folder "updfiles". NOD32 couldn't create the "updfiles" folder when it's absent! Though I don't expect high chances at this time since there is setup program in this case this is the only one I can try at the moment.

    Thanks
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello taichi,

    Attached is the contents of my Install directory....

    I have no sub-directories here....

    HTH...

    Regards,
    Kent
     

    Attached Files:

  10. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you very much, puff-m-d.
    But what I meant actually was NOD32's root directory, i.e., "Eset" directory.

    taichi
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    This is the Install directory I was referring to:

    C:\Program Files\ESET\Install

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  12. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Yes it is. What I need is the subfolders' names in

    C:\Program Files\ESET

    Happy New Year!
    Taichi
     
  13. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Here is what I have in my ESET directory...

    Regards,
    Kent
     

    Attached Files:

  14. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks once more, puff-m-d.

    taichi
     
  15. yeumyang

    yeumyang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    I tried once more to install, but it produced the same error message. However, I found out this time all the neccessary files are extracted to the correct folders, so I don't think the installer is the one to blame. Since I tweaked rather severely my system (for security matters), I presume at the moment the cause is on my side. But I can get the neccessary files and informations to start the NOD32 now, I managed NOD32 to work. So, please don't mind anymore about this thread.
    Thanks and sorry to bother.

    taichi
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.