Can't install new, can't uninstall old

Discussion in 'Returnil releases' started by twl845, Jan 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, I just got a desperate call from my Brother. He said his current subscription of Retunil Pro is running out in a week or so, so he bought a renewal via paypal. When he tried to install, he says it tells him the old version has to be removed first. So he tried to uninstall via Add/Remove and it won't uninstall. When he clicks uninstall it just blinks. So he can't uninstall the old and he can't install the new. Does anyone have an idea what's wrong? Thanks in advance for any response.
     
  2. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for your response. If I had the problem I would take your advice, but my Brother who isn't that computer savvy would probably implode his computer trying to use the app. He is 170 miles away so I can't really help either. I was looking for a simpler way to get him untangled. Something I might be able to walk him through over the phone. :)
     
  4. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Sounds like he's trying to uninstall while in virtual mode? Have him check to make sure all protections are disabled first.
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I asked him if he had it turned off and he said he did. He said that he can't even access his existing copy of Returnil at this point.
     
  6. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    If your feeling brave...
    Once installed its a very simple interface
    1click to open app
    2select returnil from list (if its there)
    3select remove (button on lower right i think)

    4reinstall returnil
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hey guys, the ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ didn't have his existing copy of Returnil completely off. Buckslayr called it. I walked him through it and he's up and running with his renewal. I thank you all for everyone's help. :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2011
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    oops. Sorry for referring to my Brother that way. Sometimes he gets me going and I forgot where I was. Thanks again for the help to all. :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.