can't install ess!!

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by ar75, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I bought ess 2 days ago but it was a dissapointment from the start becouse i can not use it:( i cant install it... it just going to 75% then its says theres been a problem and cant finish.... please help me!!
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello!

    Please , move the ESS's install file to the main C:\ drive (assume C:\ is the drive where your OS is installed)

    Then goto Start->Run-> type cmd and press ENTER.
    Type cd\ and press ENTER
    type ess_nt32_enu.msi /lvx* installESS.log (for x86 system)
    or
    type ess_nt64_enu.msi /lvx* installESS.log (for x64 system)

    and press ENTER

    This will run the setup file with the parameters to make a detailed log file called installESS.log . It in the C:\

    Send this file to support[at]eset.com along with C:\Windows\setupapi.log file (send the 2 files as attachments)
     
  3. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Before try to install and get setupapi file do that :

    1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit in the Open field, and then click OK

    2. Locate and then double-click LogLevel under the following registry subkey:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

    3. On the Edit DWORD Value window, click to select Hexadecimal on the Base pane.

    4. Type 0000FFFF in the Value data box.

    5. Click OK.

    Then try to install ESS. Locate the setupapi.log after end of the installation.

    Although i strongly belive all this is usefull. (in my case it was)
     
  4. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    tanks for your reply but it doesnt work..
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Whose reply doesn't work ?
     
  6. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    help doesnt work.. sorry for my english
     
  7. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    isnt so fun to buy things that you cant use:(
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,772
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello ar75,

    What operating system are you using?

    What other security programs are you running or have run in the past.

    Any information you offer will help others to help you.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    All you have to do is to send some logs to ESET (the vendor) so that they analyse them , see where the problem comes from and help you.The logs - those I told you how to do in my first posting here . They should work.

    In the mean time you can use NOD32 v2 trial or EA v3 trial (whatever works for you) - for free , until they provide you with solution

    P.S. If you have difficulties with English , contact your local support . Fill in this form and provide them with a link to this thread:
    http://www.eset.com/support/contact.php
     
  10. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    i have vista.. and i dont getting no logg files
     
  11. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    the installer has bugs, 1 way i got round it on my laptop was to instal the RC1 and then instal the final version over the top of it
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,772
    Location:
    Texas
  13. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126

    if the trial installs you can input your user name & password I believe in settings it shows where it can be chged, I can't be more specific as I'm at work...
     
  14. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    doesnt help... sorry
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you run the msi installer with the "/lvx* log_name" parameter, a log will be created for sure. It will reveal more details as to why the installation failed.
     
  16. ar75

    ar75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    ive tried that many times but i dont get any log
     
  17. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
  18. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Ctl, Alt, Del. End Process: ekrn.exe

    Then it will install properly.

    Silver
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.