Can't Install Acronis TI 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by DaveLeeNC, May 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaveLeeNC

    DaveLeeNC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    I just purchased an electronic version of Home TI 2009 (my second copy for my wife's computer). I can go through the install process to what would appear to be the end, and then it un-does itself and tells me that the installer has been interrupted and must be re-started.

    Of course restarting leaves my in the same place. I also tried my other (legal) CD copy of TI with the same results. This is a pretty vanilla Dell Inspiron Laptop running Vista Home Premium. There is not much on the machine that wasn't shipped - Trend Micro Security and MS Office Home is about it.

    Where should I go?

    Thanks.

    dave
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try installing it in Safe Mode.
     
  3. DaveLeeNC

    DaveLeeNC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    It seemed like a reasonable suggest but apparently the Windows Installer won't run in Safe Mode.

    I also tried 'run as Administrator' on the install executable, but the install process failed in the same manner as before.

    Thanks.

    dave
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Is the Vista on the Dell 64-bit? I think there were some users who had problems on 64-bit systems. Try a search on the Forum for those messages if yours is also 64-bit.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dave,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    To resolve the issue could you please do the following?

    1. Completely uninstall Acronis software (Start->Settings->Control Panel->Add or Remove Programs. Select Acronis True Image (if there is any) and hit "Remove").

    2. Reboot the computer.

    3. Temporally disable your Anti-Virus software (including Firewalls).

    4. Manually delete the content of the following folder: C:\Users\[account_name]\AppData\Local\Temp

    5. Disable Windows User Account Control (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> User Accounts -> Turn User Account On or Off -> Uncheck “Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer".

    6. Try to install the product again from the scratch.

    If the problem persists, please do the following:

    1. Launch the product installation file;

    2. Once the Acronis product installation screen appears, right-click on the name of the component that fails to install. You should see two options there: Install and Extract. Select Extract;

    3. Select the path for extracting the component and click Save. You should select C partition, and leave the auto-created file name.

    4. Go to the Run prompt (Start -> Run) and issue the following command:

    msiexec /i C:\AcronisTrueImage.msi /l*v C:\msilog.log

    5. Reproduce the problem and send us the log file created during the installation;

    6. Please compress MSI output file into an archive (e.g. with WinZip) and attach to your post.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. DaveLeeNC

    DaveLeeNC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Simply emptying my ...local/temp folder seems to have done the trick. I have now installed and can boot the software - thanks so much.

    BTW, I was certainly not expecting holiday/weekend online support from the Acronis staff. THANKS so much and very impressive!

    dave
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    That's only because you have the same last names. :D :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.