Can't Get Rid of KIS 2010

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    A few days ago I uninstalled KIS 2010. I used the removal tool on both my computers. Subsequently I found some files that seem to be associated with the Sandbox that I am unable to delete.
    They are found in Doc and Settings - All Users - Application data - Kaspersky Lab - Sandbox. There are 11 folders and the size on disk is 945 MB.

    I have posted on the KL forum, and have provided a GSI log.

    Needless to say I am not a happy camper regarding KIS.

    So far the folder on my laptop that cannot be deleted is slightly under 35 MB.

    Anyone have similar problems with KIS 2010? The problem is with the Sandbox evidently.
    I recall all the gripes about Norton and the difficulties with removal, and now here is KIS.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  2. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    If i remember correctly, MBAM has a tools section and one of these tools will delete files on reboot which is what you need to do.

    Edit: yes, it's called "File Assassin"
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Since we don't know how long it's been since JerryM posted on the KL forum or what advise he received there, if any, I wouldn't leap at that suggestion right away.
     
  4. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    He's giving this rig away and is cleaning things up. These leftovers are difficult to delete because they are in the "app data" folder and some are locked by windows.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    If you're giving your rig away I would format the hard drive, or restore back to factory settings if there's a restore dvd/hidden partition.
     
  6. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Agreed, however.....

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=270576
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    seems to me, you need to reinstall KIS, then go in and delete the contents of that folder, uninstall KIS and manually delete folder.
     
  8. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

  9. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I was wondering if that would work, and asked the question on the KL forum. The questions are in the Fan Club forum.

    I think I tried Unlocker, but will take another look.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  10. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I used Unlocker on each individual file. The files were deleted, but cannot delete the folder. It will send the folders to the Recycle Bin, but cannot delete them from the recycle.
    I restored them, but cannot delete the Sandbox Folder. Its properties are 0 files, 450 folders, and 0 bytes.

    'Kinda strange I think.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    should have done it my way.
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Maybe it will still work, and delete the Sandbox folder.

    I hated to have to go through the uninstall Avast and PC tools firewall, install KIS and then uninstall it, and reinstall Avast.

    I am liking Avast more and more, plus since I am giving this computer away I don't want to leave KIS on it.

    The original reason for removing KIS was that at different times on both computers I got the notice that the Blacklist was corrupted. I was unable to correct it, and went through the remove/install exercise. However, KIS did not run well after that so I removed it, and found the Sandbox situation.

    I may not go back to KIS, as it sometimes requires a restart also. Compared to others I use at times it is the most "squirrelly."

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  13. Zekeblue

    Zekeblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska - USA
  14. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    Did you start with the removal tool or did you first uninstall and then use the removal tool? I have uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times on 2 Windows 7 x64 machines without any issues whatsoever. Just wondering how you got to this point.
     
  16. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Hi JerryM.

    Download the removal tool here, and try to use it in safe mode.
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I used it after uninstall.
    Jerry
     
  18. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks. It was worth a try, but it did not remove the folder.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  19. ogy

    ogy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Have you tried to take ownerschip of that folder/s ?
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/308421
     
  20. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i can say that last time i tried to uninstall KIS i had to use the uninstall tool from Kspersky but it worked quite well. It was a week ago
     
  21. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I could not seem to come up with the same results that the instructions said. There was no security tab for example.

    gery,
    Actually the folder is not causing any problem that I can detect, and if I had not searched I would not know that it was there.

    I suspect I am going to give up since there seems to be no problem. But I am not going to put KIS on my new computer.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  22. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, then you are either using FAT32 (ugh) or XP Home.
     
  23. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    XP Home.
     
  24. ogy

    ogy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    to have this security tab, you need to disable "Use Simple File Sharing (Recommended)" (Folder Options)
     
  25. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    No workie w/ XP Home. See FaJo XP instead.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Rico
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    402
  2. JerryM
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    601
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.