Can't get Comodo Firewall to start. "bad_module_info"

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by __Nikopol, Jul 19, 2018.

  1. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    228
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi
    I am using NVT OSArmor 1.4, NVT EXE Radar pro 4.0, and Kaspersky Free Anti-virus 2019a

    During installation all protections are disabled.
    After installation of Comodo the GUI just doesn't start. No visible error message. But there is an entry in event manager that appears everytime I start it:
    Code:
    Faulting application name: bad_module_info, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
    Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
    Exception code: 0xc0000374
    Fault offset: 0x00007fff25494d1b
    Faulting process id: 0xf44
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d41f57784d1dbe
    Faulting application path: bad_module_info
    Faulting module path: unknown
    Report Id: 3d0d65a5-3eb9-4da9-9bf6-eec772f4b381
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID: 
    And then a WER information that says:
    Code:
    Fault bucket 1848098676317480482, type 4
    Event Name: APPCRASH
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: 0
    
    Problem signature:
    P1: bad_module_info
    P2: 0.0.0.0
    P3: 00000000
    P4: unknown
    P5: 0.0.0.0
    P6: 00000000
    P7: c0000374
    P8: 00007fff25494d1b
    P9:
    P10:
    
    Attached files:
    \\?\C:\Users\Distelzombie\AppData\Local\Temp\WEREE15.tmp.WERDataCollectionStatus.txt
    \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERFDD5.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
    \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERFDF5.tmp.xml
    \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERFDFA.tmp.csv
    \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERFE1B.tmp.txt
    
    These files may be available here:
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_bad_module_info_fd7a8a7fa2c45d754bf12f5626776557554767e_85207d7d_115e0313
    
    Analysis symbol:
    Rechecking for solution: 0
    Report Id: 3d0d65a5-3eb9-4da9-9bf6-eec772f4b381
    Report Status: 268435456
    Hashed bucket: 2e50cfa9d2340bd129a5c3f457c5e622
    Cab Guid: 0

    This also happens when I uninstall Kaspersky beforehand and I heard of many using both together, so I don't think this is the problem.

    The services appear to start fine, though I do have unimpeded Internet access.

    Please help :(
    I want to test Comodo :(

    EDIT: Damn it! XD after making this thread I thought about searching the error code together with "Comodo"... Why not before? XD
    https://forums.comodo.com/install-s...o-badmodule-error-when-running-t122362.0.html
    I'll see if that works for me or not... Please wait.

    EDIT: Yea I can access Comodo using cis.exe
    But I don't get messages from the firewall and the tray does not work yet.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2018
  2. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Uninstall reboot and then use the offline installer (untick the antivirus part) from here: https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...et-security-v11006606-released-t122312.0.html
    EDIT: don't use a 3rd party uninstall tool or the cleanup part after the reboot will not be performed.
    comodo.PNG
     
  3. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    228
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank you, but I figured it out:
    If you find "Windows Operating System" in your blocked list in Comodo and allow it, everything works fine. I think you also have to disable HIPS temporary.

    This is also mentioned in the link. (Except the HIPS part)

    (Now I feel dumb for opening a thread about it and fixing it myself 30min later xD)
     
  4. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    228
    Location:
    Germany
    I still have this issue. Had to reinstall Comodo because of Windows Update.
    It's useless this way: it doesn't show alerts.
     
  5. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,808
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    no wonder LOL, if you use Comodo you don't need any of them.
    btw, did you setup the exclusions?
     
  6. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    228
    Location:
    Germany
    I use most things in alert mode so yes. I want a good Firewall. You can't have this function with the mentioned three programs. (And no, I don't want to use windows firewall) :)

    You're always saying NVTERP is the best you don't need anything else. Yes, but once you allowed a program to start, it's done, mostly. It doesn't ask you about anything anymore if the program has all the functionality inside. OSArmor doesn't protect all programs, only the listed ones. And why would I trust any program?
    In solution: I need a Firewall and sandbox for certain programs.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2018
  7. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,014
    You can always try Simplewall, it is a very good tool, light and wont conflict with your setup:
    https://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall

    If you want Comodo try to use it alone with Cruelsister settings, it is very powerful.
     
  8. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    228
    Location:
    Germany
    I had it for a while. It's good. I like that it incorporates anti-spy blacklists for MS. But it doesn't protect the settings. (Windows Filtering Platform)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.