Can't enable firewall in smart security

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by beery, Dec 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2007
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    The first thing you should try is called reinstallation :

    1. Download fresh new Eset v3 product from http://www.eset.com/download .
    Make sure that you choose the correct version.
    2. Uninstall your current version from Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs
    3. Reboot the computer when prompted
    4. Delete manually these folders:

    - C:\Documents and Settings\All users\Application data\Eset
    - C:\Documents and Settings\your user\Application data\Eset
    - C:\Documents and Settings\your user\Local Settings\Application data\Eset

    5. Reinstall your ESET smart protection with the file you just downloaded . Use typical install.
     
  3. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9

    It still not work :oops:
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Generally I wouldn't recommend anyone using registry cleaners but a couple of weeks ago we had a client with the very same problem and of course reinstallation didn't help . After inspecting his PC , support couldn't find a solutions , too .

    He said he used a registry cleaner tool - RegSupreme which found a lot of corrupted stuff and performed a little but of cleaning on his registry . After that he was able to install ESS and use it . I talked to him yesterday and till then everything is OK .

    I personally will never again use reg cleaners because I have had nothing but problems with them . However , many people use such programs .

    If you have nothing to loose - you can give it a try:
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4001.html

    Use it in a standart mode (I don't remember exactly the name but there was some kind of aggressive mode , don't use this one)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 4, 2007
  5. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I had already try "RegSupreme" it can't fix my problem.
    eset smart security still can't enable firewall. :oops:
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Report your problem to ESET via the internal form (Help -> Contact Customer care) , fill in with info , provide a link to this thread , allow the program to take info about your OS , machine and ESS .

    If Eset NOD32 Antivirus works well for you , download it and use it along with another 3rd party firewall (or Windows Firewall)
     
  7. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9

    Now i'm using Eset NOD32 Antivirus . work well no problem.
    Thank you
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome!

    Hope your ESS gets fixed :thumb:
     
  9. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9
  10. lych

    lych Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Make sure you uninstall and/or disable other firewalls running on your system. Also, uninstall other antivirus/anti-malware programs other than ESS (having too many security products installed will definately cause problems).
     
  11. Norton360

    Norton360 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    I'm having the same problem in Windows XP SP2.

    I've reinstalled it and still the same error. I've also cleaned the registry, and of course I don't have any other security applications installed or runing.

    The most extrange is that some days ago I installed it and worked fine. Then I uninstalled ESET Smart Security for testing other products (PC Tools Firewall 3 + Symantec Antivirus Corporate 10), and today I have reinstalled ESET again and the firewall doesn't work. However, I did the same in other computer and the firewall works without any problem on it.

    So I'm really confused and sad :'( :'( :'( :( :( :(

    Hope somebody can help me/us.

    Please.
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    PC Tools caused me to reformat after uninstalling. I would look for all traces of it in your registry.
     
  13. Norton360

    Norton360 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    Thanks trjam, I've searched for any PC Tools traces but still can get ESET to work with firewall :'(
     
  14. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I already fixed.

    1. Uninstall your ESET
    2. delete ESET Folder
    3. Disable/Turn OFF windows xp sp2 firewall
    4. reboot your computer
    5. reinstall ESS

    all done! ESET firewall working
     
  15. lalala

    lalala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Unfortunately, I am too having the same problem with the firewall (ESS 3.0.566). It is driving me nuts, I can't sleep damn it!:eek:

    BTW, this doesn't work for me. I had to install comodo for the night (I hope).

    Is there anybody here that could help me with this? Thanks.
     
  16. dzigy

    dzigy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have same problem since yesterday.... I have searched about 20 forums for answer, and no one has one...... If someone of you finds out what the problem with firewall, please post here.
     
  17. Norton360

    Norton360 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    Wow, many thanks. It has worked for me. Cheers!!!

    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  18. dzigy

    dzigy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    not working again.... :( :( :( :( :(
     
  19. lalala

    lalala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Yeah, I hope Eset fix this. :/
     
  20. beery

    beery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Posts:
    9

    Check your xp firewall is turnoff, Before install ESS
     
  21. lalala

    lalala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Did that about 5 times, still no luck. :/
     
  22. dzigy

    dzigy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    i did just the same think... nothing working yet
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.