Can't download Dr. Web trial

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by acr1965, Aug 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I cannot get Dr. Web av to download from their site. Also, have tried softpedia but that redirects to the Dr. Web site for download which does not work. Any ideas?
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Are you talking about Cureit?

    Just tried it myself, no problem. I did notice it is via ftp.
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    This link will work, as it is directly from Dr Web.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    no- the full av
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I get this message-

    "This webpage is not available.

    The webpage at ftp://ftp.drweb-online.com/windows/drweb-500-win.exe might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.

    More information on this error
    Below is the original error message

    Error 2 (net::ERR_FAILED): Unknown error."
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    No problem here using FF 3.5.2. :doubt:

    What browser are you trying it with?
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Rebooted and tried with FF and the download now works. Was trying Chrome and IE previous. Oddness.

    thanks for the help everyone.
     
  8. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
  9. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    You still using Dr Web? If so, how is it running?

    Not much love for the doctor these days! As internet tests have proven to have files which aren't malicious at all, and Dr Web states they won't add junk files, could be a reason it doesn't always perform the best in tests.

    Either way, hope people still support this company. :thumb:
     
  10. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    I use it and have always liked it for the fact that it was light, minimalistic and trouble free. I bought the license in 2007 and extended it to 2011 some time ago.

    .. But now I've started to have problems. I can't make full system scans without some NTFS errors. The scan just suddenly stops and says "done" and I get errors like this:

    "The file system structure on the disk is corrupt and unusable. Please run the chkdsk utility on the volume C:."

    Sometimes I got the same error in partition D: also.

    No problems with other antiviruses, the HD is ok(everything is working, unless I scan with dr.web), the OS installation is just 2 weeks old and there is no malware according to other tools/antirootkits/av's.

    It works 100% in real-time, but when I try to use the scanner everything starts to fall apart. Using chkdsk to correct errors doesn't help, the problem re-appears when scanning again.

    The support has asked me for some system information which I've provided and I was also asked to run LiveCD. No results yet.
     
  11. format_c

    format_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    116
    could you run the scanner with /not_drop_shield command line switch and perform full scan once again? like this

    drweb32w /not_drop_shield

    if so, do you have the problem, too?
     
  12. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    The scan went straight through without any problems using not_drop_shield. No errors. I will try again after a few hours just to see if I was just lucky :)

    However, if this solved my problem: what is exactly wrong and can I fix it somehow?

    Thank you for the help.
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I plan on installing Dr Web after my Avira license runs out but that will be a little bit yet. When I could not download Dr Web earlier I found a 90 day Avira promo (which has been taken down since that time). I have pretty much tried them all and usually end up going back to Nod32 because it causes the fewest issues. But I don't feel all that safe using it.
     
  14. format_c

    format_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    116
    well... something goes wrong way. you have nothing to do, that's weird problem with Dr.Web scanner integrated anti-rootkit module
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.