can't display 'C' files with 'Compaq' desktop

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emile77, Jun 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emile77

    emile77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi ,
    My brother in law had just bought a 'Compaq-Hewlet packard presario SR1804FR' and when double-click on 'C' (they've named 'presario C') , a message says that it's not allowed to open these files.
    May be because of security , but these files are often useful.
    Has anybody encountered this kind of problem , and how is it possible to open these files (may be in the registry) ?
    Many thanks for any suggestion ,
    emile
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  3. emile77

    emile77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi , GlobalForce ,
    thanks for the link but these options are enabled ,
    May be another suggestion ?
    emile
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    is this what you see?? if it is just click where I underlined in red on your computer and it will show the contents
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    emile77,

    If you were overlooking ~ as in haven't clicked his red underline :D ~ BigC's post, what's the OS (XP, Win2K, etc ...)?


    GF
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2006
  6. emile77

    emile77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi , GlobalForce ,
    in fact my brother-in-law's computer is 250 miles away from my home (I live in the suburbs of Paris and he lives in the east of France not so far from Germany).
    He's a plumber and I can't call him by phone each day.
    However , the system is Windows XP home SP2 , the Computer is a 'Compaq (Hewlet-Packard)' , and may be there is some limitation if you want to access some parts of the system.( but it's very irritating not to be able to diplay what is in folder 'C' ).
    Even so , it's nice of you to answer to me,
    emile
     
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hi emile77,

    You!? We all here at Wilder's try our best to keep everyone happy! ;)
    I guess you don't know what kind of user account your brother-in-law chose as his primary (limited or administrative), but have him try something.

    Hold off on that "try something" for a moment. I had a previous reply waiting but then deemed it unfit, instead opting for an easier solution which I haven't quite come up with yet. :D

    I'm back. Have him try logging on as Administrator in safe-mode (repeatedly tapping F8 as the system boot's). Once there have him cover the same steps from my link in post two. We'll then see if this is a permission's related issue, or specific to something I was just reading.

    PS - If he has trouble with covered dialog boxes because of reduced resolution, have him rt clk the start button,
    select properties > taskbar > then check "auto-hide the taskbar" > apply > OK (it re-appear's returning the cursor to the bottom of the screen).

    Important: Ask him too please if he used the "Files and Settings Transfer Wizard" to copy over any information from his old computer.


    GF
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2006
  8. emile77

    emile77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi , GlobalForce ,
    The solution was given by BigC's post , my brother-in-law phoned to me this evening and the message: 'Show the contents of this folder' (in french: 'afficher le contenu de ce dossier' ) was at the very bottom of the folder 'C' but he did'nt see it the first time.
    So now after having clicked on it , all folders and files of 'C' are available.
    It' the same for folder 'My documents' , same message and now all is OK !!!
    Thanks everybody once more for your kindness and the good issue you gave me ,
    emile
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.