Can't delete

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Badcompany, May 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Forum,
    I have a square at the top of my monitor with 4 squares inside it.Can anyone tell me what it is, and how to delete it. Please see screenshot.
    Badcompany.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    BC,

    I can't tell if that belongs to IE7 or something else.
    Would you post a screenshot or two of what's running inside Taskmanager (rt clk taskbar).


    GF.
     
  3. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi GF,
    it appeared when i click on microsoft works.
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Does that mean your all "squared" up? :D

    GF
     
  5. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    I didn't know that Mr. Einstein was a comedian.
    BC :D
     
  6. bktII

    bktII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    224
    I bring the MS Works Portfolio window up via a menu selection of "Microsoft Works Portfolio". When I try to close the window by clicking on the "x", another window comes up asking if I want to start Portfolio every time Windows starts. I just select no since I use an alternative office suite. Did you select yes? If so, can you remove it from your startup list?

    The process "wkssb.exe" represents MS Works Portfolio. Can you just kill the process?
     
  7. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi bkt11,
    thanks for the reply, that did the trick, uncheck the box in startup manager now it has gone.Thanks.
    Badcompany.:thumb:
     
  8. MikeH

    MikeH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    To Badcompany:
    For what it's worth- the Works Portfolio is a folder where you can store downloaded pictures,text, etc. that you may want for your future Works projects.
    If you open Works, you can go to "Programs", then click on "Works Portfolio". Controls can be found here. Open the Portfolio, click on the "little squares", then select "tasks", then "options".
     
  9. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi Mikeh,
    Thanks for the info, appreciated.
    Badcompany.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.