Can't delete duplicate file entry

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LenC, Aug 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have a text file on my computer - it has a normal entry as shown in windows explorer with a create date and size.

    I also see a duplicate entry in windows explorer (in same folder) with identical name and create date - and the size is 0 bytes. I checked file attributes - it is not read-only or hidden. If I look at security tab in file properties, I get a message saying security information is either unavailable or can't be displayed.

    I can delete the "normal entry", but cannot delete the duplicate. If I try, system asks me if I want to move it to recycle bin. When I say yes, it says it "could not find this item".

    I tried doing it from the command line - it says "file not found".

    Any ideas or nifty utilities I can use to kill this thing once and for all?

    Edit: I booted into safe mode - was unable to remove entry in windows explorer or from command line
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2010
  2. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Hey guys - thanks for nothing:argh:

    Just kidding - I actually got rid of it using Unlocker - a program I had read about on this forum.
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Were you able to run Unlocker without being full admin? Just curious.

    Sul.
     
  4. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Hi Sully -

    Not sure what you mean by that. I was signed in as myself (with administrator rights). I did nothing else special - and it worked like a charm.

    What is full admin?
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    When using Unlocker, you must be admin to do so. Full Admin is when in Vista/7, you are not running LUA/UAC, so the security token used for everything is of the Admins.

    I was just wondering if Unlocker worked from a LUA/UAC environment. When I used it in XP, it would not operate propely in LUA with RunAs or SuRun, only from real user logged in as Admin.

    Sul.
     
  6. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    This all happened in XP
     
  7. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    The newest Unlocker works fine with UAC.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.