Can't delete duplicate file entry

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LenC, Aug 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have a text file on my computer - it has a normal entry as shown in windows explorer with a create date and size.

    I also see a duplicate entry in windows explorer (in same folder) with identical name and create date - and the size is 0 bytes. I checked file attributes - it is not read-only or hidden. If I look at security tab in file properties, I get a message saying security information is either unavailable or can't be displayed.

    I can delete the "normal entry", but cannot delete the duplicate. If I try, system asks me if I want to move it to recycle bin. When I say yes, it says it "could not find this item".

    I tried doing it from the command line - it says "file not found".

    Any ideas or nifty utilities I can use to kill this thing once and for all?

    Edit: I booted into safe mode - was unable to remove entry in windows explorer or from command line
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2010
  2. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Hey guys - thanks for nothing:argh:

    Just kidding - I actually got rid of it using Unlocker - a program I had read about on this forum.
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Were you able to run Unlocker without being full admin? Just curious.

    Sul.
     
  4. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Hi Sully -

    Not sure what you mean by that. I was signed in as myself (with administrator rights). I did nothing else special - and it worked like a charm.

    What is full admin?
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    When using Unlocker, you must be admin to do so. Full Admin is when in Vista/7, you are not running LUA/UAC, so the security token used for everything is of the Admins.

    I was just wondering if Unlocker worked from a LUA/UAC environment. When I used it in XP, it would not operate propely in LUA with RunAs or SuRun, only from real user logged in as Admin.

    Sul.
     
  6. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    This all happened in XP
     
  7. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    The newest Unlocker works fine with UAC.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.