Can't create a Boot Disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by paul humphreys, Sep 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paul humphreys

    paul humphreys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    I've just bought TI8 upgrade D/L link version was 763...so I had to D/L version 771. After this frustrating process when I'm asked if I want to make a boot disk the program just bombs out my computer. Is it me or has TI suddenly become unstable? Or is it issues with Windows XP SP2?

    Anyway has any including Acronis got any idea how I can reslove this problem please? Any help gratefully recieved.
     
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Define "bombs out"
     
  3. paul humphreys

    paul humphreys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    The system shuts down and reboots itself.
     
  4. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Others have reported success making the CD in safe mode.
     
  5. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Sounds like a faulty driver issue.

    Disable the option to automatically reboot your computer in case of a STOP error:
    Control Panel -> System -> Advanced -> Startup And Recovery -> Automatically reboot

    The next time it happens, if it is truly a crash, you will be presented with the information about the crash. On the other hand, if it truly is a spontaneous reboot, then you may have faulty hardware such as bad RAM, an overheating CPU, or bad PSU.

    You should also be able to pull the crash info from the Event Viewer.

    You don't happen to have Roxio CD burning software on your PC, do you?
     
  6. paul humphreys

    paul humphreys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    Yes, Roxio Easy CD 6
     
  7. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Well, you could get the crash info that I mentioned previously and post that.
    Or you could simply get rid of the Roxio software if you want to test something right away.

    The Roxio software is horribly flawed in my experience.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.