Can't change personal firewall settings

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by vfabro, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vfabro

    vfabro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I'm trying to change the advanced settings for the personal firewall, but when I go to "IDS and advanced options" and check the option "Log all blocked connections" then hit OK I get an error dialog saying that it "Failed to change settings." Any idea why that might be and how I can work around it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Are you logged on with admin rights?
     
  3. vfabro

    vfabro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Yes, I'm logged in as admin. I guess some more details are in order. I'm running Vista 64 bit and I'm the admin.
     
  4. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello vfabro,

    Check the registry permissions for HKLM/Software/ESET. Try disabling UAC.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  5. control13

    control13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I'm having the exact same problem as VFABRO. Where/what is UAC in HKLM\Software\Eset? (I'm running Vista 64 bit)

    Additionally, I moved Outlook 2003 from another machine (XP) using Laplink. whenever I start it, I get the message "the add-in C:\PROGRA`1\ESET\ESETSM~1\EPLGOU~2.DLL could not be be installed or loaded. This problem may be resolved by using detect and repair on the help menu". I ran office detect and repair, no dice. Is this a registry issue also?
     
  6. control13

    control13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    To clarify, I know where HKLM\Software\Eset is, but what is UAC?
     
  7. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello control13,

    UAC is the Microsoft Windows Vista User Account Control

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  8. control13

    control13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hello Richard,

    I disabled UAC in Vista and rebooted. Still getting the "failed to change settings" error when trying to change firewall settings in ESS 3.0.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.