can't backup --VSS: can't read volume data

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by jkn7, Jul 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jkn7

    jkn7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    US
    Paragon Backup and Recovery 11 Home, windows XP SP3

    type of operation [virtual] succeeded
    type of operation committed, Result: VSS: Can't read volume data
    Error: 73750 (0x12016)

    Volume shadow copy service is started

    Disks are USB 3.0 external drives, tried 2, both are good, checked both with Seagate Seatools for windows, no problems in short tests. Both hard drives are seen in windows disk manager, NTFS file system, no problems in fdisk, Windows Backup can write to the disks. Disks seem good. I couldn't get acronis to install so I was hoping this would be my new backup program. <sigh>
     
  2. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    Try set Paragon Hot Processing instead of MS VSS
     
  3. jkn7

    jkn7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    US
    thanks for the reply
    I disabled hot processing in the settings menu and still get an error when attempting to backup a file. "No files or folders have been found. There is nothing to back up. Probably , the files or folders you have specified were moved, or filtered out" --> not the case, no filters in place and the file didn't move.
    In the progress box the error states "An error has occurred while enumerating working set...Reason: "An unexpteced situation has occurred".

    under enable hot processing, the only "hot processing technology" available is the shadow copy service.

    I got Norton Ghost 15 working. Methinks something is wrong with the Paragon software.
     
  4. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    When you receive that VSS can't read volume data it means there are bad sectors on the either the source or the destination drives, usually it is the source. There is nothing wrong with the software it just simply doesn't want to image back bad data or a corrupted OS which bad sectors can cause.
     
  5. jkn7

    jkn7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    US
    The source drive is a mirrored set of drives (raid 1) -- does that make a difference? If there was a bad sector, wouldn't it only be on one of the drives in the mirror?

    If their was a bad sector do you have a recommended utility to correct the problem or scan for disk errors?
     
  6. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    I would recommend checking with the disk manufacturer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.