Can't Backup - Stuck on prepare

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by parabloke, Jul 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. parabloke

    parabloke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Hi all,

    Just installed True Image and have tried to make my first backup of my C drive...

    I go through all the motions - select image destination etc...

    When I press 'Done' or 'execute' or whatever the button is called, it opens a progress dialogue box and tells me that it is "preparing..."

    Only it doesn't do anything more than that

    Any suggestions?

    Win XP SP2
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    How long did you wait ?

    Try waiting longer and see if it times out.

    F
     
  3. parabloke

    parabloke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry, I should have been clear about this

    I doesn't crash and I've waited plenty (about 20-30mins) - It still gets stuck on "Preparing..."
     
  4. parabloke

    parabloke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Oh, and I can hit the cancel button and stop, still no crashing.

    It seems like the whole user interface is working nicely, but it's just not doing the tasks it is supposed to
     
  5. dbol

    dbol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I'm at the same point now... I'm gonna wait over night--- 14 hours or so... see if it does the trick.

    I'll let you know first thing in the AM!
     
  6. dbol

    dbol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Well... 16 hours later... still "preparing", so I'd say somethings not right.
     
  7. simusphere

    simusphere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Virginia
    Uninstall the program and try reinstalling after you close all other programs in the system tray first. Then create another boot CD and try it both from the boot CD and from windows and see how it goes then. If it still doesn't work then you might have a corrupted download. Download it again.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello parabloke,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. You can find the build number in the Help -> About dialog (it should be a 4 digit number). To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If the issue persists, download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the issue still persists then enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file. Please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please also tell us where are you trying to store the image archive (internal, external hard drive, CD/DVD disk or another storage device)? Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  9. parabloke

    parabloke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you all for your help. The problem was not resolved, but I due o other circumstances I had to reinstall windows :(

    Now my problem is a little worse - True image won't open !!! But I'll make another post about this. Called True "Image doesn't open"

    Although I will try reinstalling using the method mentioned eariler - quiting all unnecessary apps etc

    Thanks again
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.