Can't backup a partition

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by rufus1000, Jul 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rufus1000

    rufus1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    I cannot backup a system partition. After reboot backup manager doesn't start. Windows XP starts like usual and HDM 2009 shows an error that other application uses HDM engine of something...

    What should I do?

    Thx in advance
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Are you multibooting?

    Which is the system partition ( what o/s is on it ) ?

    Did you check in Task Manager to see if any other Paragon processes are running?
     
  3. rufus1000

    rufus1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Yes, but no other Paragon processes are running.

    On that disk, first partition is /boot for booting Windows XP on second partition and Linux Fedora on another disk.
     
  4. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    I had a similar problem when backing up the XP system partition, which seemed to be due to a problem with XP hot-processing.

    Try going to Tools/Settings/Hot processing options and un-checking 'Enable hot processing'.

    That will force the program to use the Paragon engine to perform the backup, avoiding hot-processing. That worked.

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. rufus1000

    rufus1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    No... it doesn't help.
     
  6. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    Another thing to try is to completely clean the backup capsule:
    - Archives + manually delete all archives.
    - Manage backup capsule/Clean the capsule.

    Then try to backup a partition again, followed by checking the individual archives with a Verify check.

    For what it's worth, I've since upgraded to both Paragon HDM 2010 Suite and Windows 7, and haven't experienced any of the problems I encountered with HDM 2009/XP combination.

    Hope this helps!
     
  7. rufus1000

    rufus1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    It doesn't help too... ;((
     
  8. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    Can't because multibooting. Why not use recovery media?
     
  9. rufus1000

    rufus1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    I don't understand. I can't speak English very well.
    Can you tell me what should I do with recovery CD?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.