Can't Access One Particular Website

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LenC, May 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I am trying to access a password protected website that I have accessed many times before. I am now getting a message "invalid user id or password".

    This is what I tried:

    - I can access the website from a different computer in my home. I log right in.

    - On this computer, I also tried firefox (in addition to my default browser, which is IE8 ). I can't get in using firefox either

    - I cleared all cookies and temporary files - still can't get in

    - If I remotely log into my company computer and establish a remote session, I can't log in from the terminal session - get same error message.

    If I go to any other password protected website from this computer, I can log right in - no problem

    I am really stumped by this. Any thoughts?

    Thanks,
    Len
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    LenC, a commonality between the browsers is your computer's HOSTS file. Have you checked it to see if the URL in question is there?

    In my XP (I believe Vista's location is the same but not sure) the files resides in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc and you need to open it with Notepad to view it.

    That's all I can think of; perhaps others will pipe in soon.
     
  3. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    It may relate to negative cache entries?
    Technet
     
  4. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    JRViejo -

    I messed up - sorry about that. I was using an out-of-date password. My son was using the correct password on the other computer and was (naturally) getting right into the website.

    So thank you for your response.

    BTW, I did take a look at the hosts file. It has a last modified date of 8/2004, which is way before purchase date of this computer - 8/2006. The file has only one non-comment line in it:

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    Is that what you would have expected to be there?
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    LenC, you're welcome! Glad to hear that it was an outdated password.

    Not knowing if you had installed a program similar to Spybot Search & Destroy, which blocks sites based on Hosts file entries, the fact that you found only one entry means nothing was ever written there. A little background reading: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_file
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.