Can't access https sites?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Sarge1400, Mar 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sarge1400

    Sarge1400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Can't access web sites/addresses that begin with https. If I remove the 's' and manually enter the address as 'http', I get access.

    In the 'Adavnced Setup' for Nod32, under Web and email / Web access protection / HTTP, HTTPS / HTTPS scanner setup, I cannot make any changes. 'Use HTTPS protocol checking for selected ports' is enabled, and below that it calls out port 443.

    I can make changes in the HTTP scanner setup section, but not the HTTPS section.

    Help please. Go easy on me, I'm in uncharted territory here.

    Windows 7, Firefox 19.0.2, Nod32 6.0.308.0
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you navigate to Web and email -> Protocol filtering -> SSL, do you have scanning SSL enabled? Note that SSL-aware applications must accept root certificates from the Trusted root certification authorities certificate store, otherwise they won't work or you'll have to export and import the ESET root certificate manually.
     
  3. Sarge1400

    Sarge1400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    'Do not scan SSL protocol' is selected.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    In that case, SSL communication is not scanned at all and ESET shouldn't intervene in the communication. Does disabling Web protection (gui) or protocol filtering (advanced setup) actually make a difference?
     
  5. Sarge1400

    Sarge1400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Disabling either, or both, had no effect.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    That means you can rule out ESET as the culprit.
     
  7. Sarge1400

    Sarge1400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    I see.
    I've tried different machines, Windows versions, and browsers, all with the same results. The only commonality between them would be my ISP and my router.

    Any thoughts?
     
  8. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    If you temporarily uninstall ESET, does it resolve your issue? Other than that it could be several issues such as:

    - Software firewall
    - Hardware firewall
    - Some type of hidden malware
    - Winsock issues (I've seen it before, because of strange behaviour with a VPN client. Was fixed with a netsh int ip reset)
    - ISP (but rarely they are the cause)
    - Software commonality for all computers prevent from browsing.
     
  9. Sarge1400

    Sarge1400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    One of the other machines I tried doesn't have ESET installed, so I'm guessing uninstalling it won't help. As I said in my last post, the only commonality amongst the various machines I've tried is my ISP and router.

    I'm going to try plugging my satellite modem's Ethernet cable directly into my PC, bypassing the router, and see if that makes any difference.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.