can't access a local website

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by DaveU, Mar 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    halifaxcourier.co.uk is my local paper's website. For the past week or so I can't access it - the 'green squares' at the bottom of the screen showing progess stops with one quare to go.
    I can access it at work & the paper has just confirmed their web-site is OK.

    I've just checked the "restricted sites" in Internet Options/security in case I added the site by mistake - but it's not there. I've just added it to 'Trusted sites' but still I can't get through.

    There's nothing special about the site that I can think of. I can access other sites immediately.

    I have Norton IS.
    Has anyone any ideas please? This is soooooo crazy!! o_O
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am also running NIS 2008 and the site opens just fine for me. you might check all of your security including your FW to see if it is being blocked
     

    Attached Files:

  3. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    thanks for that advice, bigc.
    I've added the site (62.105.105.151) to the Trusted list (NIS 2007) and it's not on the restricted list. Same with IE options.
    But I still can't access it.
    I also have Adaware (Ad-Watch is disabled) - nothing there. I also have Spywareblaster - scanned through 1000's of sites but couldn't find this.
    My BT broadband packahe comes with Norton but I didn't instal that - didn't see the point.
    I'm just going to search "62.105.105.151" to see if that shows anything.

    One last thing - I sometimes write letters to the paper attacking councillors (= locals elected to run the local authority). The elections are coming up. I hope there's no way somebody could block me via my PC to stop me writing/emailing. I may check that the newspaper hasn't!

    any other help would be greatly appreciated. :'(
     
  4. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    having sent my last post, I found that I had at last reached the site!
    So I've just tried again and timed it - 14 minutes to reach the home page. I tried to enter their comment room to see if anyone else if having problems - that was at 18.01, five minutes ago and I'm not there yet.
    Looks like the problem is with the site tho' I'll now try a ping and a speed test.
    Thanks for your help, bigC. Much appreciated.
     
  5. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Took me the better of two seconds to reach this site.
     
  6. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Took me about 10 seconds on a T-1 line to bring up the webpage. But since it is going over the Atlantic Ocean, I would expect it to take a bit longer. :cool:
     
  7. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    ccsito: "But since it is going over the Atlantic Ocean, I would expect it to take a bit longer." :D :D :D
    That's only because the gales were behind you!
    Still no luck. Two teccie questions - (1) if an admimistrator wanted to block me, he/she'd simply stop me, not slow me down I presume? (2) I see from NIS's log that yesterday I had 13 of the following "unauthorised access logged" messages:
    EVENT DETAILS
    ACTOR: C:\Program files\Microsoft Office\Office10\Winword.exe (PID=nnnn)
    TARGET: \Registry\Machine\Software\Symantec|Common Client\cc Service \Channels.
    ACTION: Unauthorised access
    REACTION: stopped

    There were different PID numbers and one of the messages referred to Excel. Does this mean anything?
     
  8. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    re the NIS log, I think I've figured out that they're are connected with the fact that I have Office 2000 so will have to consider upgrading it.
    The Newspaper's IT people have checked and they say it's not at their end!
    I guess that's it. If members here can't figure it out, no-one can!
     
  9. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    On my system, the admins filter the content of each URL that you type in and will block access to certain sites (such as gambling, porn, hacking, trading sites). The response would be an immediate reply that the site could not be accessed. There would be no "lag" in providing this message. The only time that I have experienced lag (which is quite frequent due to the heavy traffic on the network) is when my server has issues. On some occassions, the destination website has issues and comes up slow. So if the site was to be blocked, it would be immediate and not delayed.

    I haven't ever notice that kind of messages from the Symantec program on my PC. But again, I only have the AV program and not the NIS one. It seems like Word was attempting to access the registry. Not sure why it would try to do that.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.