Cannot see Hard Drives with recovery disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Traduk, May 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Traduk

    Traduk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I have a licensed version of TI9 and TI10 and have tried both on a new computer. They work perfectly in native Windows XP SP3 but a recovery CD runs into all sorts of problems.

    The motherboard is an Asus Rampage extreme and in keeping with their latest progress has only a USB mouse which only goes up and down the screen unless I add a comment during loader to give "quiet usbmouse=off". Irritating but at least a fix.

    Although I have only one (1Tb) hardrive in two partitions the recovery disc cannot see the hardrive at all. It is a Sata 11 hardrive run via a Marvell 61xx RAID controller. The program is not a lot of good to me if I cannot get in via an external method if the "C" drive falls over therefore help with the following would be appreciated;

    (1) do the newer versions cover a much larger range of drive configurations than the older recovery disks.

    (2) have I no alternative but to create either VistaPe or BartPe with the drivers for the more obscure modern controllers.

    I have used TI for years and other than once, its simplistic and efficient recovery has saved the day many times for me. Maybe I am just lazy but I am hoping for a download, pay for it and forget it rather than days of researching complex work arounds.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Download the Trial of the latest version ... it may have drivers to enable its Rescue CD to see your drive. Be sure to have a Backup that will let you go back to the pre-install of the Trial just in case. Or install the Trial on another computer or hard drive, just to make the Rescue CD.
     
  3. fungus

    fungus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    My TI-10 rescue cd could not see my sata hard drives.
    I downloaded and installed TI-2009 on an older computer and then made a 2009 rescue cd.
    Taking this cd to my TI-10 computer and booting from it allowed me to see, and do a small restore, from my sata drives.

    Fungus
     
  4. Traduk

    Traduk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for the replies. I will trial the latest version and see if the drivers are available within the recovery disk created with the program.

    They all work OK on an older computer using early Sata drives but I was concerned with Sata 11 using a Marvell accelerator/controller chip. That chip is used on many Intel motherboards so it may be that it is included in access to cover the millions that have those motherboards.

    TI did me a massive favour, years ago, when it showed "bad block" errors on a back-up HD which otherwise looked and behaved as healthy. TI was my only warning but it subsequently failed the HD manufacturers tests and was scrapped but not before extracting every data bit from it.

    The only time TI let me down was when I had not tested a recovery CD and on a day when XP decided to die I could not access the drives. An old abandoned competitors product got me an ancient recovery which then allowed TI to back up with the latest image. Disaster to normal non panicked blood pressure in under 10 minutes is where Acronis wins:)

    Thanks
     
  5. RichardMW2

    RichardMW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    13
  6. Traduk

    Traduk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Many thanks for all the comments.

    I downloaded a Trial of TI 2009 and it can see the hard drives and I have been able to restore files across the two partitions from a recovery CD.

    It still needs intercepting with F11 during boot to enter "usbmouse=off" in order to get the mouse to do anything other than move vertically. Is there a permanent fix for this annoying little problem?.

    This new version appears much more capable than the older versions I have so I will almost certainly upgrade but would like to think that if the O\S falls over, in a few months time that I do not have to read notes on what to type in before I can get the recovery going.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you create the TI CD you can include the usbmouse=off parameter. That way, you won't need to type it in every time you boot the CD.
     
  8. Traduk

    Traduk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Many thanks.

    Such a simple fix :) with an addition to the command line during creation but almost impossible without someone kindly pointing the way.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.