Cannot right-click or open SmartSecurity from the tray icon

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by JimpsEd, Nov 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JimpsEd

    JimpsEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    As the title really; all up to date, running Vista Ultimate x64. Nothing happens.
     
  2. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Please confirm that on the Purchased Software Download page you Clk'd the very last line on the page (64 bit) - which almost qualifies as "barely noticeable".

    I've seen Vista Ultimate posts that things are operating OK and others with definite problems beyond "won't open". Were it me, I'd Uninstall and Delete Explorer and Registry folders and start over - just to see what happens. Vista problems don't get the best help here but hopefully someone can assist you. I presume you have Administrator rights and all that Vista stuff I'm not up on.

    If you decide to Re-install here's what I copied for Deletes after Control panel Add/Delete occurs:
    Delete for Vista:
    - C:\Program files\ESET
    - C:\Program data\Eset
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Local\Eset

    Registry
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Eset
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ Software \Eset
    [FONT=&quot]- HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\egui (Clk Run to see egui)

    [/FONT]
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2008
  3. JimpsEd

    JimpsEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Hi there,

    Thanks for your response. I can confirm I have the correct 64bit version.

    Thank you for your suggestion too - however, I am afraid that this sort of thing has put me off purchasing for our office; I'll be going with another solution.

    Sorry to waste your time :)
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It'd be interesting to know what applications you have installed, perhaps a log from ESET SysInspector would shed more light. Frankly, you are the first person in the world to have reported such a problem so I assume it's not a problem of ESS itself.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.