Cannot restore image V9.0 build 2337

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by charliej5, Jul 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charliej5

    charliej5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    I have successfully used TI to backup and restore, but sometime between 7-16-2006 and 7-23-2006 something changed. I have an incremental backup dated 7-16-2006 which includes backup of 7-9-2006. I tried to restore the
    7-16 backup (located on a USB external drive.) I am doing this from the Linux kernel outside of Windows.

    First, I have Drive 1= C,D,E; Drive 2= F,G,& H,) External drive= I & J.
    Partition "C" on drive 1 contains the operating system, Windows XP (Home)
    w/ Service Pack 2.

    Originally the backup of Partition "C" was on Drive 2, partition F. I subsequently copied to to external partition J because TI does not show either drive 1 or drive 2.

    I tried to restore partition C, but TI does not show it at all.

    Using Acronish Disk Director, I can see all of the partitions. The type listed for Drive 1, partition "C" reads "Pri,Act." Drive #2 for partition "F" reads "Pri,Act.: External drive, partition "J" reads "Pri,Act."

    When the rescue disk first starts up from CD, it says "ata2 - "disabling port."

    I am not knowledgeable enough to interpret this data.

    Can/will any of you guys offer any suggestions as to how I remedy this issue?
    Perhaps related is the fact that my file backup program, Retrospect Professional V7.0 suddenly throws error "Insufficient permissions" and therefore is unable to execute backups.

    Many thanks for any inputs.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Hi Charlie,

    1. Where did you backup to and restore from when it worked. Obviously, TI had to show you those drives both in backup mode and restore mode.
    2. Did you backup and restore the C partition successfully when things worked.
    Just to clarify, you must have both the original full backup on which the incremental is based and the incremental backup both on the same drive in the same folder in order to restore the incremental. That's two .tib files assuming the full and incremental backups are not split.
    OK, this is a major problem. Did TI previously show Drive 1 and Drive 2 when you booted from the TI Recovery CD?

    If it did previously and now does not, something very significant has changed on your system. Be sure you are using the same TI Recovery CD that you used previously. The Recovery CD changes with each build of TI and a new one must be made when you do an upgrade to a new TI build.
    This is good news since it confirms that both internal drives and all three partitions on each drive can still be accessed.

    The problem is TI in Recovery CD mode not seeing Drive 1 and Drive 2 now when it used to. (Please confirm that you did boot from the Recovery CD previously and could see both drives plus the USB drive.) Since this is TI in the Linux operating system and you didn't say that any hardware had changed, the drives should be visible.

    So, what has changed since things worked? Is this the same Recovery CD? Have you added anything to the computer that uses a USB port?
     
  3. charliej5

    charliej5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    John,

    Thank you so very much for the thought provoking discussion. I always learn from you.

    The problem, now solved, was the requirement to disable Norton GoBack
    prior to making a restore. Acronis' website says
    "The thing is that Norton GoBack modifies the existing partitions' type (FAT16, FAT32, NTFS, etc.) into its own format, making them incompatible with the existing partitioning/imaging software while GoBack is active. This way Norton GoBack prohibits other applications from changing the partition table. So, for specific Acronis True Image 9.0 Home functions you will need to disable Norton GoBack first:

    If you want to use the standalone version of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home
    If you want to restore a disk/partition from a backup
    If you want to manage (create, resize or delete) Acronis Secure Zone"

    I quite obviously have not disabled GoBack prior to this experience (and had no troubles). Once I disabled GoBack, started TI from the Rescue Disk, everything functioned perfectly, just as I was accustomed to. I have certainly learned my lesson with this....one that I shall not forget.

    By rolling my system back to 7-16-2006 it solved my error problems with Retrospect.

    For the benefit of anyone else potentially affected by GoBack, please note that versions involved are Acronis True Image V9.0, build 2337 and Norton GoBack V4.02.309.

    Once again, John, many thanks for your assistance and my education.

    Charlie
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.