Cannot install True Image Home 10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jemmyell, Jun 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,

    I bought True Image for it's Vista support. The copy I have installed on my Vista Home premium software test system seems to work well.

    I then bought another copy of True Image Home 10 for my Windows XP software development system. I always keep registration keys in a text file when I but more than one copy of a piece of software. I accidentally used the Vista key for the new XP install. The install 'self canceled' halfway through. When I realized I had used the wrong key, I then used the new key but the True Image Home 10 installer simply 'self cancels' also. How do I fix this?

    -James Leonard
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi Jemmyell, welcome to the Forum... :D

    The most likely cause is that ATI has partly installed. It is probable that when the installation "self-cancelled" it did not "clean up" what was already installed. I suggest that you do the following in this order: -

    1. Using Windows Explorer find the ATI installation directory and physically deleted any remaining files and then delete the Folder.

    2. Use the Windows "Search" function to search for any remaining files on your hard drive that have "Acronis" or "TrueImage" in the filename. If Search finds any of these delete them.

    3. Empty the Recycle Bin.

    4. Use a good Registry Cleaner to clean the Registry of any keys that ATI may have created. Advance Uninstaller Pro 8 from Innovative Solutions has an excellent and very safe Registry Cleaner. You can download a trial version from here : -

    http://www.innovative-sol.com/

    5. Now try to reinstall ATI using the correct license key.

    On the question of Vista support it may be helpful if you reviewed the information at this thread : -

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=173214


    T.
     
  3. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Everything I read here makes me wonder if True Image is even worth messing with. As a software developer, my systems are worth a GREAT deal to me. The Vista application I wanted imaging for was to give me a 'clean' system for installation testing since everything is so new with Vista. I have always been a Ghost user, but 2003 does not work with Vista. I don't really have the time to struggle with my secondary tools that I use to support development. I was hoping True Image would give me an integrated backup method but it seems that problems with it are myriad.

    I hope to hear from Acronis support soon for the case I have filed with them.

    -James Leonard
     
  4. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi James

    ATI 10 is an excellent product for disk or partition imaging. It works exceptionally well with all versions of Windows XP. And support from the members of this Forum is legendary. Support from Acronis can be rather slow but is probably no worse than the industry as a whole and is certainly a lot better than many competitors.

    There is no denying that there are issues with Vista and the consensus of opinion is that Acronis were somewhat premature in advertising v10 as being Vista compatible.

    However, in that respect Acronis are not alone. The compatibility problems with Vista are becoming an increasing concern across the industry. In fact only this week Dell have reverted to delivering PC's and Laptops with Windows XP Professional installed as the default OS. There is a message in there somewhere....

    My advice would be to perservere with ATI v10 and establish a working procedure that works for you. As is the norm in the software industry there are work-a-rounds for almost every eventuallity. Once you have a working procedure then you will be OK.

    T.
     
  5. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Ok, I am usually very cautious about registry cleaners and things like that, so I will try your suggestions tonight about getting TI 10 to install.

    Actually, the Vista installation is doing what I want, I have made two different test images to a second hard drive, and they both restore without issues.

    I do hope that it is reliable on XP. I am dumping ghost because I can't get any support from Symantec, and my source code is just too important!

    -James
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If it's working for you with Vista, you shouldn't have any problems with XP. Generally, there are a lot less problems using TI with XP than Vista (when it comes to restoring, at least).
     
  7. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    A very sensible approach. However, the Registry is possibly the most critical area of Windows, and just as it can be catastrophically terminal to screw it up, by the same token a Registry full of incorrect keys can seriously affect your system.

    I suggest that you may want to proceed as follows:-

    1. Take a Restore Point
    2. Download Advanced Uninstaller Pro 8 Trial Version
    3. Use the "Registry Backup" within AUP8 to backup the Registry
    4. Do the cleanup of ATI as I suggested in my previous post
    5. Run the AUP8 Registry Scanner
    6. Unhide the information and look at each invalid key and decide which keys you want to remove
    7. Remove the keys
    8. Reboot your system
    9. If you have problems boot to the Restore Point (Last Known Good Configuration).

    I have been using and have been recommending to my clients the Registry Cleaner in Advanced Uninstaller Pro for several years and have never yet known of an instance where it has screwed up a Registry.

    T.
     
  8. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Ok, thanks!

    Wish me luck....

    -James
     
  9. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Ok, I have followed all these steps and still no joy. This is a deliberate cancellation, the installer itself is pushing the 'cancel' button then it tells me the install was cancelled you have to try again.

    -James
     
  10. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hello James,

    You will have to raise a support call with Acronis.

    If you have cleaned out all the residual files and the Registry keys and it still terminates then there must be a hidden file that contains this data. I assume that only Acronis will know how to get past this.

    T.
     
  11. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks again for all your replies. I received a support email from Acronis this morning. I sent them the documentation of the two sales from the Acronis store (via Digital River) and I will send an installer log per their request tonight.

    Thanks again,

    -James
     
  12. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Out of curiosity, have you tried booting from the TI 10 Recovery CD and making an image that way? If you are going to be hacking the Registry, it might be nice to have a backup just in case you need to undo a bad hack.
     
  13. jemmyell

    jemmyell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I still have ghost on the system. I made a ghost backup and set a restore point before running the registry cleaner. How would I run a TI 10 recovery CD when I can't install the producto_O?

    -James
     
  14. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi James

    I think John (jmk94903) assumes that you have purchased the boxed version of ATI. Using the ATI installation CD you can boot into a reduced Linux environment and run ATI from the CD without installing it on the hard disk. This is a good idea for an emergency situation. (Normally one would not recommend using the CD to install ATI because the version on the CD is usually a few builds behind the current version).

    John is correct in that you should be very careful when working with the Registry and a Full System Backup would be the ideal. If you cannot do that then do the following: -

    1. Take a System Restore Point. If you have a problem use the "Last Known Good Configuration" option in the Safe Mode Menu to boot.

    2. Use Windows to backup the System State.

    3. If you have Advanced Uninstaller Pro 8 then use the "Registry Backup" utility in the Registry Tools to backup the Registry.

    T.
     
  15. DrTeeth

    DrTeeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Not that the issue I have come across is anything in the league of problems in this thread; but the problem that I have had installing ATI 10 under Vista is that the installer crashes, having been aborted by DEP. Luckily, the problem is cosmetic as the installation itself is not affected.

    The first time it happened it was brown trousers time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.