Cannot install OS in empty Snapshot

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Baedric, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I have followed the instructions I found in the Raxco FAQ to the tee and I cannot install the OS to the empty snapshot. I get the "NT Loader Missing" error upon every re-boot. I already have the Bios set to boot to the CD Drive and the Windows XP install CD is in the drive. Any idea as to what may be wrong?
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Have you read this at Raxcos FAQ?

     
  3. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    sukarof,
    Yes I have read the FAQ at Raxco and I followed the instructions.
    I created an empty snapshot, booted into it and received the "NT Loader Missing" message, I then placed my windows CD into the CD drive and re-booted and then received the "NT Loader Missing" again. I double checked in the bios and yes I have it set to boot from the CD First. I then tried it all again and had the same results.
    I get the "NT Loader Missing" message every time I re-boot.
     
  4. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Did you press any key in order to boot from CD?
    The CD does not boot by itself, when you don't press a key it will continue with booting from harddisk, where the NTLDR is missing.
     
  5. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    wilbertnl
    Thank You!
    I actually had done that but exited out, as I wanted confirmation from someone here that I would not be overwriting my current OS.
    I have now successfully installed XP in my empty snapshot. I was just not willing to take that leap of faith at this point as I have loads of work and cannot afford the down time re-imaging my drive.

    Thanks again!
     
  6. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041

    Just make sure you don't format the disk - choose leave file system intact.


    Everything should then be fine - the installer should not be able to see other snapshots
     
  7. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Yes, it looks scarry, since you can't see what your harddisk looks like when you are in the blue setup screen.
    As long as you don't format the partition, but select leave filesystem alone it's safe to proceed.

    The great thing is that you are able to finish a fresh installation, while at the same time your other snapshots still exist.
    In case you have anchored data, you will find that available right away (handy for downloaded drivers, etc)!

    Just install FD-ISR and your can boot into any snapshot you like, without having to complete the fresh installation to 'work state'.

    (@starfish, you typed just a little bit faster. :))
     
  8. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Thanks again everyone! All is well here and I have a shiny new Windows install to play around with.;)
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    :thumb: (This FD thingie sure is fun to play with, isn't it!)

    Acadia
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.