Cannot Get FTP To Work

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by thezzapper, Apr 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thezzapper

    thezzapper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    New York City
    Using Vista Home Premium. Very impressed with ESS thus far after having it installed for about 12 hrs. Flawless installation after uninstalling Nod32 v2.7, deleting left-over files & cleaning registry prior to installation.

    Very lightweight, not CPU intensive.

    The only problems I have had so far is getting FTP to work despite opening port 20 & 21. Also, when downloading from web with Getright download accelerator, it slows my downloads to a crawl, & eventually stops the downloads altogether.

    Anyone else having similar problems?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Have you tried different filtering modes (interactive, policy-based) to see if it makes a difference?
     
  3. thezzapper

    thezzapper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    New York City
    Will try that this evening when I get home. So far, I have just been using interactive.

    Thanks.

     
  4. Meister

    Meister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Hi.

    I have the same problem only with port 80 (HTTP). I've used automatic and interactive and Policy.

    In Automatic mode, I can access OK from localhost but not externally.

    In Interactive I can access OK from localhost but even when I add the rule to allow in&out traffic it doesn't work.

    In Policy, same as Interactive.


    -----------

    edit:

    I kind of fixed it.

    1) Set to Interactive mode
    2) Start your service (HTTP, FTP)
    3) Use one of the online port scanners (I used the scanner at grc.com)
    4) When it warns you about an incoming connection, set the rule there.

    Of course, I could have been doing something wrong previously. But I have no idea what it was... :p
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2007
  5. thezzapper

    thezzapper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    New York City
    no matter which filtering mode i use, i cannot connect to FTP.
     
  6. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    Hi,

    Did it warn you (prompt) about a connection ?

    If not, did you try, in interactive mode, to manually create a rule for your application (like an outgoing TCP rule on port 21, which is the default for FTP) ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.