cannot get back to acronis TrueImage 10 after trying 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by covici, Dec 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. covici

    covici Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi. I am having problems getting back to Acronis True Image 10, which worked, after trying (and actually buying -- hope I can get money back) TrueImage 2009. I installed 2009, rebooted and it took quite a while to reboot and then tried the program and could not read the screens and so decided to go back to V10. I tried to remove 2009, the first time it did not work from the programs and features under Vista, but I eventually thought I had removed it and installed my old V10. However after installing that, the system would not boot at all, took only about 2 seconds and then rebooted. The only way I have a system was to do first known good, however this is not a complete TrueImage 10 -- says it can't find its modules. I tried removing the whole thing and installing again, but no joy.

    Any assistance would be appreciated.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try bringing back the system to an earlier state by using a Windows Restore point.
     
  3. covici

    covici Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    I did do a restore to the time before I installed the 2009, after the first remove was unsuccessful, but I still can't successfully reboot after installing 10.
     
  4. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    You bought 2009 but could not read the screens? Can you explain, have you got a faulty monitor, faulty graphics, or do you mean you are unable read? 2009 screens are really easy and user friendly especially if you are a Vista user. Before you installed 2009 did you remove all remnants of the previous version, and I do mean all remnants, not just using uninstaller, and have you done the same in reverse? If you are a Vista user then try 2009 again as I have found it to be the best TI version to date when using Vista.
     
  5. covici

    covici Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    By not being able to read the screens, I mean that I use a voice output to read the screen and version 10 has the text on the screen, but 2009 draws the text in a way which is no longer visible to me. I did not remove all remnants before installing 2009 and ran into problems removing it -- perhaps some of 2009 is still somewhere which is preventing a proper install of the older version, but I am not sure where such might be.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  7. covici

    covici Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    When I tried to delete the key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ACRONIS\scheduler regedit said error deleting key -- I stopped there. I am using Vista 32-bit.

    Thanks.
     
  8. covici

    covici Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi. So I found the solution to the error deleting key which was I had to change the permissions on the key and then I was able to delete the other keys, install TrueImage 10 and reboot successfully.

    Thanks.
     
  9. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    I know this is known as "locking the barn door after the horse has been stolen". If you have used another version of TI and have done restores successfully, may I suggest next time before installing a new version of TI that you make an Image and then you can simply restore to that image and you will have your old version of TI back.
     
  10. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    I too bought ATI 2009, and reverted back to ATI 10. I now use ATI 10 on Vista 64, Windows 7 32 and 64 beta builds - not 1 issue with backup or recovery. I do full backups and full recoveries - "keep it simple" works best for me.

    FWIW - ATI 2009 would not install to one of the Windows 7 64 bit builds so I went back to ATI 10.

    I still have ATI 2009, bought and paid for, and will keep it for future use. I have to admit, IMO - ATI 10 is the best.
     
  11. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    It may be for your system and as you say "IMO" - for my system or at least my PC's hardware, 2009 is by far and away the best, the most stable and the fastest - Vista HP 32 bit and Ubuntu dual boot. Just shows what a nightmare Acronis must have getting TI to work with all the myriads of setups out there.
     
  12. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    The only reason I went back to ATI 10 was ATI 2009 would not install in Windows 7 pre-release beta 64 bit. I had it working fine in Vista 32 and 64 bit, as well as Windows 7 pre-release beta 32 bit. Both 10 and 2009 have back upped and restored w/o any issues. When the public beta is released, and if I can get a 64 bit version, I'll try install 2009 to it. I have no complaints w/ATI.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.