Cannot create schedule task??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ericwi, Jul 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ericwi

    ericwi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi all,

    Whenever I tried to create a scheduled task , the system prompt I have entered the wrong logon information even though I verified my logon to the domain ( windows domain) is correct.

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. DeLorean

    DeLorean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    If you use XP, boot to save mode and put a password
    on the administrator account, per example X.
    Than you reboot to normal mode and use that username and password to schedule a task.

    http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/3026/acronisfa8.jpg

    I use this little trick because on my regular Windows account there's no password, and without a password a schedule task don't run.
    The trick above works only on XP Pro, on XP Home you need to use another account because the administrator doesn't work here.

    On Xp Home you can use the following trick :

    Make a new windows account with per example the name "Acronis",
    put a password on it, per example X
    Then hide this account from the welcome screen :

    Start/Run/Regedit

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\SpecialAccounts\UserList.
    Note: There is a space between Windows and NT.

    Add the username you wish to hide as a DWORD value. Set the value to 0 (zero). This will prevent the user from showing up on the welcome screen. You will need to press CTRL-ALT-DEL twice at the logon screen to get the old Win2K logon, to be able to logon to the account you've hidden. Adding a username and setting the value to 1 will cause that user, such as Administrator, to show up on the Welcome screen as well.

    source : http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_wel_screen.htm

    Good luck :cool:

    greetz
    DeLorean
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ericwi,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I am sorry for the delayed response.

    Please remember that you should specify the name of the user who owns the executed task, otherwise no scheduled execution will be available. The user name and password which should be entered are those user name and password you use to log into your Windows Operating System. The user name should have the following format: Computer Name\User name

    You can use the same user name as in Scheduled Tasks available at Start -> All programs -> Accessories -> System tools -> Scheduled tasks, schedule a new task with Add New Task wizard and copy username form it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  4. Larswebb

    Larswebb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Everyone,

    I too am having problems scheduling a task. My tasks won't run, when I go back and check the login information box my password is changed from 3 digits to 8. The correct username is displayed and I am a Administrator. I have edited the task a few times and each time I go back my password is changed to 8 digits again. Any ideas?

    Thank You,

    Larry
     
  5. bottom

    bottom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    73
    > I use this little trick because on my regular Windows account there's no password,
    > and without a password a schedule task don't run.

    thx DeLorean

    i'm not using a password and scheduled task work...
    BUT when using post-commands it doesn't
    will try the trick asap this we

    thx (again)


    bottom
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Larry,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are very sorry for the delay with the response.

    Please be aware that what you have found is not a problem but a normal behavior of the most Window-based applications. Acronis True Image always shows 8 dots instead of a password independently of how many symbols your password actually consists of. This does not affect the corresponding task functionality and therefore cannot cause any problems.

    If you receive any error messages stating that the username and\or password is incorrect, please do as Aleksandr has suggested and try specifying your username in a form of Computer name\User name (see this previous post of mine for details).

    If that's not the case or the above just doesn't help, please make sure you use the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home which is available for downloading in the Product Updates section of your account at Acronis web site.

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    To get access to updates you should create an account then log in and use your serial number to register the software.

    Please uninstall the previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 3677.

    Note that you should create a new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home then please check each partition of both the source and destination hard drives by Windows utility: use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive. Note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    Please also download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists after checking the hard drives and updating the drivers, please re-install Acronis Scheduling Service in the following way:

    - Download and run schedmgr.exe application;

    - Issue the following commands:

    service stop
    service uninstall

    - Close schedmgr;

    - Replace schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe files in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder with the files from this ZIP archive.

    - Run schedmgr application once again;

    - Issue the following commands:

    service install
    service start

    - Close schedmgr;

    If the problem still persists after re-installing Acronis Scheduling Service then please do the following:

    - Open the command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);

    - Run the following command in the folder the schedmgr.exe file was saved to:

    schedmgr get report > schedreport.txt

    - Collect schedreport.txt;

    - Run Acronis Schedule Manager program (schedmgr.exe) once more;

    - Issue the following command:

    set logflags support

    - Schedule backup creation once again;

    - Wait until the scheduled backup will not execute;

    - Collect the log file schedul2.log that is placed in the \Program Files\Common
    Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder;

    Please also provide us with the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Reproduce the problem and collect Acronis True Image log which can be saved from Tools -> Show Log -> Diskette icon.

    Then please submit a request for technical support. Provide the files and information collected in your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.