cannot create msvcrt.dll

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Q Section, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello
    We have unfortunately been offline for about 2 1/2 months until today. We had V 2.0 1.438 and today obtained the new trial version to check it out. Attempting to execute the ne98enst.exe file gets us about 43% of the way through the set-up and then we get a "Cannot create msvcrt.dll and mfc42.dll file". So how can we get it to install? We tried with the old V 2.0 1.438 not running. We also entered Safe Mode, turned off every application and checked the task manager just to be sure nothing was running except systray and explorer. The install still failed with the above message.

    Thanks for help with the best anti-virus program out there!
     
  2. martindijk

    martindijk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Gorredijk - the Netherlands
    Hi QSection,

    I suggest you download the latest version of NOD, where new updates have been implemented.

    You will no longer get the msvcrt.dll missing ;)

    rgds,
    Martin
     
  3. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello Martin
    This querie is a result in downloading the latest version of NOD32 as of 17SEP03.
     
  4. Caratacus

    Caratacus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Australia
    This is rather like a problem I had:

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=10537

    Everything I did to fix it failed. Finally I resolved it by buying a new system with Windows XP :) !
     
  5. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Has no one any answer for us?
     
  6. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    hello Q section welcome back wondered where you disapered too lol. snipped - this is the NOD32 forumany ways thought i would just say hi .
     
  7. SaracenBlade

    SaracenBlade Guest

    A Google search will find thousands of problems with msvcrt.dll.

    Microsoft has several updated versions, with added heap managers and so on, but some programs ship with the version that suits them best, and this can break other programs. If it's an old version Windows usually warns that the file you're about to replace is older than the existing version, but not always. It sounds like you have a dud version.

    Installing he latest version from the Microsoft website should fix the problem. Download ALL the Microsoft libraries updates while you're there. Sometimes OLE-AUT library bugs can be reported as msvcrt problems, and it's hard to track down.
     
  8. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Did you try completely uninstalling the old version before you attempted to install the newer version?
     
  9. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Yes we completely unistalled the old version. But - we will try it again.

    Hello Solar :)

    We will try MS again.

    Thank you.
     
  10. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    We obtained the latest library from MS and tried a re-install first closing EVERYTHiNG. Well - it worked. We now have again the best anti-virus program running again!

    Thank you.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,

    I'm glad to hear from you that it works now. It is likely that another application had these files exclusively open at the time you were installing NOD32. It would have been worth to try copying these files manualy from the c:\program files\eset\install directory to \Windows\System32.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.