Cannot boot from CD or zip

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by xplat, Jul 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xplat

xplat Registered Member

Hi
    I have succesfully saved an image of my Vaio laptop hardrive to an external usb drive. Now I want to transfer that image to a brand new disk. But I cannot get my laptop to boot from the bootable CD. I'm no techie but I've been tinkering with reordering the BIOS settings all afternoon and I flashed upgraded the BIOS but it will still only boot from the hard disk. I made a recovery disk on a usb zip disk but it won't boot from that either. I guess this is not really a DriveImage problem but I can't find anything on the web except 'set up your BIOS'. SOMEONE must know how to sort this PLEASE! o_O

2. rharris270

rharris270 Guest

Your posting leaves me a bit confused. Are you attempting to run true Image by Acronis, or Drive Image by Power Quest (now owned by Symantec)? If the former, you have the right forum. If the latter, try the Symantec support website.

Assuming True Image, I suggest that you provide addition details about your PC, like age, CPU, RAM, internal disk size, operating system, etc. And, provide more details as to exactly what happens when you boot with the CD inserted. For example, does anything flash on the screen about hitting some key to boot from CD, or does the CD light go on as if it is trying to read the CD? Have you tried the bootable CD in a different PC, one that you know is capable of booting from a CD?

3. rharris270

rharris270 Guest

I checked the Sony website and they list dozens of Vaio laptops, including user manuals, FAQs, and other things of interest. The info you need to boot from CD, assuming that your PC can do it, is likely contained on that website. Also, please include exactly which model you have in your next posting; it would really help.

4. TheQuest

TheQuest Registered Member

Hi, xplat