Cannot backup directly to DVD+RW

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Paul Nutt, Apr 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Nutt

Paul Nutt Registered Member

Hi.

I'm trying to backup a particular partition directly to a DVD+RW using TI trial version 10.0 (4,942) on Vista Ultimate. The burner is a SATA Samsung WriteMaster (SH-S183L).

I did a quick search of this forum and didn't see any solutions. I'm new to TI but a long time image creator/burner. I am specifically looking to backup directly to a DVD for this particular partition and understand the risks. This is a duplicate backup for convenience and portability... Not my primary backup strategy.

The message I receive is: E00040004: Disk is full.

Neither the Retry or Format options are sucessfull and the same message returns. I've also "erased" the disk with Vista but no luck.

Any help is appreciated and I'll keep searching. TIA!

Last edited: Apr 22, 2007
  2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

If this is a duplicate backup strategy, then if you don't find a solution, just burn the primary backup files to the dvd.

3. Paul Nutt

Sorry to not be clearer. I shouldn't try to keep my posts so short. :)

Thank you for the suggestion, but part of my evaluation of TI is to place my images in the Acronis Secure Zone on a RAID 1 array, so the "primary" isn't readily available (if at all). I do want the convenience of not performing the "2 step" process that I've done for years.

I assume I'm doing something wrong, but if writing directly to a DVD isn't possible it doesn't speak well of the product.

PowerQuest DriveImage was a good product in the day, but I eventually needed RAID and bought Ghost 10 in a moment of deeply discounted weakness at Fry's. I would like to make a clean break from Symantec and I'm not sure I trust the imaging software built into Vista. ;)

4. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member