Cannot assign a drive letter to a partion from the image archive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Rcrete, Aug 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rcrete

    Rcrete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    puzzled that images created with my laptop can be explored while images on desktop report this error. software configurations are virtually indentical. have uninstalled all antivirus, partitioning, defrag type software without resolution (these are on laptop which works fine). Ideas?

    Images of laptop and desktop are located on separate partitions on Lacie 250gb external hd.

    Is is possible that I can explore desktop image on laptop and restore to desktop via network?

    Thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rcrete,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please verify the image that you cannot explore using the "Check Image" tool? Also please let us know whether you cannot explore any image on the laptop while you can explore any image on the desktop? What builds of Acronis True Image do you have on both computers?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. Rcrete

    Rcrete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    FIX at last. Dennis Kurochkin suggested:

    Run "regedit" command (Start -> Run) and open the following registry branch:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

    Then please choose to modify UpperFilters Value data and add PartMgr value. This value was not present and adding it solved the problem.

    In checking the laptop...that was working....I found this value was present where it had been missing on the desktop.

    PROBLEM SOLVED>
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rcrete,

    I'm really glad to hear that your issue has been solved.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  5. SpectrosKop

    SpectrosKop Guest

    Hi. I have the same trouble. When I try to explore image, Acronis True Image Server say: Cannot assign a drive letter to a partion from the image archive. This trouble is permanent.
    I've try this on 2 servers (Windows Server 2003 SP1) with diferent hardware and the same software and 1 Windows XP SP2. On servers there is this trouble. On Win XP everything OK.
    Solving problem by regedit doesn't work in my case.
     
  6. KennethS

    KennethS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    145
    Howdy,

    I had the same drive letter problems you are describing and had a cycle of perhaps 20 emails with the folks in support. I spent hours trying to fix these problems all to no avail.

    Then, I re-installed Windows 2000.

    When I put TI9 back on the system, it worked flawlessly.

    All the best,

    Kenneth
     
  7. SpectrosKop

    SpectrosKop Guest

    Hi.
    This trouble is ONLY on servers. On Windows XP everything works properly. But servers says this error.
     
  8. KennethS

    KennethS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    145
    Howdy,

    I had this problem on Windows 2000 Pro...

    All the best,

    Kenneth
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello SpectrosKop,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (1002) of Acronis True Image 8.0 Server for Windows which is available at our web-site.

    To get access to updates you should create an account here
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    If the problem still persists, please verify the image archive by means of the Check Image tool.
    If your image is intact, please make a screen shot of the latest screen of the Explore Image wizard which contains the operation scenario. Please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Could you please also run "regedit" command (Start -> Run) and export the registry keys below?

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}

    Please submit a request for technical support containing all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread.

    We will do our best in order to resolve the problem under consideration as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.