Cannot access http://support.sprint.com...

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Chuck_IV, Nov 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    I have no idea why ESS is blocking this site, but it is. With ESS installed, when I try to access this thru IE7(Vista), I see the "Waiting for http://support.sprint.com in the bottom left of the browser, however I ALWAYS time out on any page within that site. It just times out with the "Internet Explorer cannot display this webpage" message.

    Turning off the firewall or anything else within ESS does nothing. ONLY when I completely UNINSTALL ESS am I able to access this site without issue. With ESS installed I see absoluely nothing in the logs about any issues, while it is try to load the page and nothing about anything being blocked, for any reason.

    I have not come across any other site that is like this.


    Can others try this and see what is up or perhaps tell me how to get around this?

    Thanx
     
  2. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Not an solution but can you ping support.sprint.com from command prompt?
     
  3. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    Yep, no problems with a ping with ESS installed.

    I just tried a reinstall and still no go, support.sprint.com times out again in IE7(loaded fine when I had ESS uninstalled).
     
  4. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    How about "web access protection > HTTP > blocked addresses" anything in there?
     
  5. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    Nope, nothing in there. I even tried adding the site to the excluded addresses to no availa. I've tried turning off HTTP filtering, turning off the AV and antispyware part, along with allowing all traffic on the firewall, and still nothing. So far, only a complete uninstall of ESS allows me access to the site.
     
  6. micko_escalade

    micko_escalade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    I'm sorry, I don't have any other suggestions.
     
  7. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    Do you have ESS installed? If so, can you access the site and if so, are you running IE7/Vista?
     
  8. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Just tried the site you listed and even though it was kinda/sorta slow loading, did come up w/no problem. Running XP Pro sp2, dunno if that would make a diff....
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Can you confirm that you have no other firewall installed that might interfere with ESS somehow?
     
  10. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    No, there are no other firewalls installed, however, I was using the newest version of Outpost Security Suite for a short time, prior to reinstalling ESS. What's strange is this is the only site I have an issue with, as far as I can tell. I CAN get to www.sprint.com just fine, it's just their support site that has issues for me. You would think if it's a conflict that more than just that specific site would be affected.

    FYI, I sent a support ticket in thru ESS itself and it sent all of my machines info, so hopefully you can see if there might be something.
     
  11. GaryRW

    GaryRW Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    OH, USA
  12. quagmire

    quagmire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I know this is an old thread, but, just for completeness, this problem is fixed in ESS 3.0.642 .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.