Can you spot what's missing?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Blackspear, Aug 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    1st time for everything, and this was for me today. Fresh install of Windows (Acer Recovery CD using Fat32).

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Few modules are missing, that can't be good ;)
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi Blackspear,
    it seems ntineten.nup in the install folder was missing or corrupted.
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    NTINETEN.nup - Windows NT Internet Setup (English)? o_O
     
  5. dog

    dog Guest

    ... and here I was going to guess it was the missing 'paw print' :p :D

    -just a little pay back buddy- :D
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    A uninstall and reinstall had AMON not starting, a 3rd uninstall and reinstall seems to have worked.

    Why Acer would sell a system with a FAT32 restore disk 12 months ago is beyond me, NTFS has been around for 5 years. The system also had a 16GB Hard Drive which I haven't seen around for over 4 years. It is just another big brand cheap and nasty piece of junk.

    Nod32 is chugging along nicely now, it's worth more than the entire system as far as I'm concerned. :rolleyes:

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2005
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, it'll keep :eek: :D :ninja:
     
  8. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    NTFS has been a round a bit before that....another 2 years and you could put a "1" in front of that "5".

    For OEMs, it was common practice to default to FAT32 on workstations/laptops which had under 32 gig hard drives, for space and performance reasons, FAT32 does outperform NTFS when it comes to drives under 32 gigs in size...so they often defaulted to that.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Indeed, my brain was associating the system with Windows 2000 and XP, not with NT, which has been around a lot longer...

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.