Can you recommend me a free virtual software?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by O.Alexander, Jan 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Hi!

    I suddenly want to try test my security setup against a real malware.

    To avoid the worst case scenario of virus penetrating through my setup,

    I realized that it is good to do the test in a virtual environment.

    Can you recommend me a FREE virtual software that doesn't need to reboot everytime you turn on or turn off the software?

    I saw some screenies where there are two windows runnning at a sametime, the virtual environment was in a small box. Is it Virtual Box? VMware? Is it free?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    VirtualBox and Virtual PC are free.
     
  3. ArashBikaar

    ArashBikaar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    BH


    Microsoft Virtual PC

    ;)

     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,049

    Hi Hama

    I am going to be very very frank. If you had to post the question, and if the biggest consideration is free, don't don't don't play with malware for real. You aren't ready. It is dangerous to your machine, and other people's machines.

    Please take this in the spirit intended.

    Pete
     
  5. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Alright,
    thanks for your advice. :D
    I guess I don't have to play with malwares. ;)
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    no malware with play with you:D
    we normally dont look for trouble but sooner or later we will be in a situation where we have to learn how to remove malware or pc bye bye
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    It's easier to keep it off the pc in the first place. Failing that and malware gets on the pc, it's easier to replace a backup image rather than trying to remove the malware. Backup/restore software is invaluable imo and often isn't given the importance it deserves.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ofcourse prevention is better than cure;)
     
  9. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I agree with peter before any malware testing attempts,Know your software and its limitations.Be sure that all is up to date including the OS and applications, not just security but all application.Perhaps with time and experience with security software and research malware what it does and how it effects your machine and other users around you.The most Important that you can recover from worst case senario a replacement Image restore,Not window system restore but from an external Offline Image such as a External HDD a recovey CD formatt etc.Are you prepared to re4matt or restore an image if disaster strikes,If not don't do it let sleeping dogs lie.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    and also not forgeting save all familly pictures in a usb stick;)
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yep or Burn to the CD
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i tried returnil and it is very fast and ligth:thumb: but i think it needs to be complamented with a firewall or hips for ID theft;) i think returnil plus malware defender that's the way to go:thumb:
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Thats where I Hope Antilogger and Defesewall would cover these areas while in sandboxie or returnil and I always start out with a new browser session.Another words I do not surf all over the web then go enter my password or credit info some where. I start fresh browser or returnil reboot and then go straight to where personal info is needed dont go past go dont collect 200 dollars.LOL
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yeap;)
     
  15. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Instead of playing with malwares,
    I decided to give Ubuntu a shot in a virtual environment.
    I have 3GB RAM,
    May I have slowdowns?
     
  16. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    lol no.ubuntu has even less system requirements than win XP.
     
  17. O.Alexander

    O.Alexander Guest

    Ohhh, really? :eek:
    Thanks!
     
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Good advice for me too! :)

    I started with Windows 95 in 2000 on an old hand-me-down computer. Then another hand-me-down computer installed with 128(later increased to 256)MB of ram and 6 gig hard drive running XP Pro.

    Finally, in September 2007, to a custom built Quad Q6600 with 3 x 320GB harddrives and 2 gig of memory, running XP Pro SP2.
    Programs on C: and data on H: drives,with an unused spare drive.

    I have never had to reformat any of these systems. Also, I have never gone looking for malware to test. I believe in prevention rather than cure! :D
     
  19. Mosqu

    Mosqu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Germany
    So why Ubuntu (8.10) runs so much slower than XP on my notebook (with Intel Atom)? I liked it :), but it was an impressive experience to use that fast and responsive XP after several Linux-days :(. BTW: Ubuntu needed much more energy than XP.

    What a pity. :(
     
  20. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    take this advice very seriously unless you want to dump your PC to the trash been
    Good luck
     
  21. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    intel atom processors are very new yet and linux OS have bad quality drivers as their major drawback.
    We are living in 2009 and their x-fi sb drivers are still in beta..
    did you play with power settings enough btw?Linux is WAY supperior to win when it comes to power and resource managment..
     
  22. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Returnil 2.0 is good. Only problem is that I got infected with Confliker when I decided it would be fun to make a flash drive infected with Confliker.

    So I upgraded to 2.1 beta, which can protect multiple drives.
     
  23. Mosqu

    Mosqu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Germany
    I see. No, I did not play with power settings - except the obvious ones. And I tried to get the special laptop-power-mamagment to run (can't remember its name), but that was because of my harddrive parking its heads every 10s - just to be wakened up immediatly after parking.

    Finally there were several reasons to go back to Win XP (for me at least), even Linux might be more sophistiicated.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.