can you help me set up my computer, please?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, Jan 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, ive just been reinstalling XP. can you tell me if i've missed anything? the picture shows the patches and software i have. ive got my AV AT sorted out too.

    im going to go through services and turn a couple of things off, and im going to do the the schrap file thing, but i cant remember how to spell schrap can you tell me?

    i disabled Net-Bios - (shown in the sreenshot)

    are there any other system changes i need to make?

    im going to change the way i log on too.

    thanks. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    do i need to change anything in these pictures? thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    My 2 cents or so>
    Much of what you change will depend upon what YOU NEED to run.....for starters i would say turn off services that you do not need to run (Start>>Run>>Msconfig) the MS stuff you see can be checked out, as far your needing or not needing it, at www.eldergeek.com i would also suggest getting a copy of Windows XP Annoyances...i have found it very helpful....like i said...starters ;)
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, iceni60

    No need for a wallpaper with all them shortcuts. :D

    I use XP-AntiSpy and BlackViper service configurations since W2k, now using the XP-Pro SP2 Config.:- BlackViper

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:

    PS: Name will never be again. :)
     
  6. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Take the check out of "client for MS networks" in the internet properties.

    -Get SafeXP http://www.theorica.net/safexp.htm (this will replace a lot of the smaller patch tools)
    -Another hardening tool: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=93893&package_id=133078
    -Firewall?
    -Maybe get the full (free) versions of a2 and Ewido
    -Get Total Uninstall (http://www.snapfiles.com/get/totaluninstall.html) and install everything with it! :)
    -CrapCleaner
    -A couple other programs you might like are XPSecurity (http://www.bitfantasy.com/content/view/12/45/), puts all your security settings in one place, and XP-Smoker (http://www.xp-smoker.com), a nice performance tweaker without the extra crap. Plus it makes disabling most unnecessary services very easy :)
    -And don't forget updated drivers for all your hardware :)


    What are you reffering to when you say "schrap file"? Do you mean the swap file (virtual memory)?
     
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116

    thanks, Rainwalker, TheQuest and Notok i'll go through what you said :) . i'll take the check out of the client for MS networks, thanks. i did a custom install and it gave me the option to not install any of those 4 - I/P (TCP/IP) , QoS etc. but i couldnt remember what i did, or didnt, need. i didnt install the file and print sharing for MS though.

    yes, i really did mean schrap, but shscrap.dll, not file. if you do a search you'll find it/them on your system, they should be renamed to something else - shscrapold...
    http://www.cknow.com/cknewsletter/0407.htm#scrapfiles
    http://www.pc-help.org/security/scrap.htm

    ive only ever updated my drivers once, the first time i installed XP, and ive no idea if i did it correctly o_O, i was looking at them a few days ago and they're mostly about 2-3 years old. is that quite bad? is it easy to update? you know that link i gave to that shelltoy program, on that site there's a program which tells you all the drives you have installed, i was just playing around with it a few hours ago, but didnt take a close look at it as i was going to reinstall. ill go and have a look for it, then update some drivers.
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    this will tell you all the drivers that are installed on your system, and it will back them up too. i think i'll try it out :D
     
  9. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Nice, thanks for the info iceni! Don't forget to make the changes in gpedit, too.. settings are in the link in my sig, courtesy of.. you! :)
     
  10. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i dont have gpedit o_O i think im getting abit over-tired, and confused, but, yes sometime tomorrow i'll check out afew links, the uk security site, MJ and few others. i also have to remember to defrag. thanks for the help. :cool:
     
  11. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Do your install one or two steps at a time. That makes it easier to undo something that goes wrong. Reboot often to make sure everything works consistently. No need to rush ;).

    Nick
     
  12. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Speaking of gpedit and the QoS packet scheduler... I thought you (and everyone at Wilders for that matter) might find this useful for optimizing your internet connection... By the way this only works if you have XP Pro.
    Open the "Run" command. Type "gpedit.msc". From the tree on the left under Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates folder. Network folder, Qos Packet Scheduler, Limit Reservable Bandwidth. You have to "Enable" the setting and set the Bandwidth Limit to 'zero' otherwise the system will reserve this bandwidth for the QoS packet scheduler which most people don't use anyways!! Leave it to good old M$ to give the people what they need! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    That's actually a myth.
     
  14. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    As affiliated as that site is with M$ you're really gonna believe them? My first clue came from how confusing the article was. It kept using the word 'programs' without specifying whether they were 'user' or 'system'. And even if this were true how do you know some Micro$oft program won't request bandwidth just when you need it most?
     
  15. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    If you're really so paranoid about the supposed affiliation, you should note that their Spyware page (http://www.tweakxp.com/tweak2079.aspx) recommends going to Wilders.. so perhaps you should run before all the MS shills around here get you :D

    You can see the rest of their performance tweaks here:
    http://www.tweakxp.com/performance_tweaks.aspx

    And some good security tweaks here:
    http://www.tweakxp.com/security_tweaks.aspx

    I see no reason to doubt the information there, but there are plenty of other sources on the net if you so desire, just search for "qos myth"
     
  16. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116

    Attached Files:

  17. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    ..... :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.