Can Symantec Norton Ghost 9 or 10 run from a floppy or CD?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Devinco, Sep 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    With the old Ghost 2003 it was possible to make and boot from a floppy or CD and perform backups and restores normally.
    Is this still possible with Ghost version 9 or 10?
    I am not talking about a bootable backup that automatically restores the backup to the hard drive.
    I mean that you can operate it normally (in DOS) so you can choose what and how to backup or restore.
     
  2. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Just a little info here:
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...2005091308551462?OpenDocument&src=hot&seg=hho
    So I assume that booting from the product CD will allow you to restore, but does it let you make backups?
     
  3. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    And the answer is.........NO!
    The Product CD (recovery environment) will only let you restore.

    Ghost 9 and 10 REQUIRE windows (and .NET) to run (they are based off the old Drive Image software).

    You could make a BartPE disc and run Ghost 9 or 10 from it.

    Incredible site about all things Norton Ghost. Great info! :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2006
  4. surfbug

    surfbug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    I've Norton Ghost 10. I clicked on the copy entire hard driver. I selected the c driver and select the destination j: driver back up and then I saw the option. I show you
    Can anybody help me?
    Thanks
    http://images6.theimagehosting.com/ghost.9e4.th.gif
     
  5. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.