Can not write any more to ext3 partition with TIH11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by aikon, Oct 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aikon

    aikon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Restored linux does not boot

    I just tried to backup with T11 and that worked so far. Also a restore was finished without any errors. But the restored partition does not boot. The PC just says: No operation system found.

    Then I just tried the same thing with an other Linux PC, and again, not booting.

    In a Knoppix boot I can mount that partition and fdisik also says it is active.

    That system is a opensuse linux 10.3, using grub.

    any hints ?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Restored linux does not boot

    Did you restore to the same partition or to a different partition?

    Was it just a partition restore or did you restore the Entire Disk image?

    Ususally, you'll get a GRUB error message and not the one you're getting.
     
  3. aikon

    aikon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Restored linux does not boot

    I tried several things.

    First I restored one of to partitions to the original drive and replaced the original partition.

    Then I tried a different hard drive.

    Grub did not start at all, on neither machine. Other wise I should have had solved the problem by adapting Grub.

    I also tried to reinstall the MBR, but did not help either.
     
  4. aikon

    aikon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I just bought TIH11 (German) as a upgrade.

    While I could backup to a ext3 drive using the TIH10 rescue disk that does not work any more with the TIH11 disk.

    Is that a normal behaviour ?
     
  5. aikon

    aikon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Restored linux does not boot

    Ok I did some trials:

    - A Debian backup and restore does work very well.
    - A opensuse 10.3 backup and restore does NOT work.
    - A opensuse backup in sector mode does work.

    I could sector mode, but it takes much longer and is only supported by TIH11, but my TIH11 does not write to a ext3 partition. That way I end up with nothing .....
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Restored linux does not boot

    openSUSE seems to be very "touchy" when it comes to being moved. I've done some testing on this and it seems to only want to boot properly as long as it's booting from exactly the same place as where it was installed. I assume this is why the sector-by-sector approach works.

    I just did a quick test trying to save a backup image to an Ext3 partition using both the Full-mode and Safe-mode versions of TI 11 and got this error:
    ext3_TI11_backup_error.jpg

    Did you get this error?

    I wonder why Acronis dropped support for saving to Ext3. Maybe it was a "mistake" like the dropping of most RAID controllers.

    TI 11 could still validate the TI 10 image saved on the Ext3 partition.
     
  7. aikon

    aikon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Restored linux does not boot

    right, thats the error I got.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello aikon,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please describe the problem in some more details? When exactly does the problem appear? Are there any error messages? What exactly do they say?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Marat,

    Yes, there is an error message. It comes up just after you press the final "Proceed" button. It sits on the screen that shows the progress bars for a few seconds and then the error message window pops up. It does this in both the Full and Safe Mode versions of TI 11. TI 10 works just fine in the same test.

    In my test, the Ext3 partition was created and formatted using DD 10 (build 2,160) and I was doing a partition backup of another Ext3 partition.

    You can see the error message in this thread.

    Error: E0004000A Error Creating File
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello aikon and Mudcrab,

    Thank you for clarification. We have reproduced the issue and forwarded it to our Development Team for investigation. Probably it will be fixed in the next build of Acronis True Image 11 Home. We are sorry, but the exact time-frame isn't decided yet.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. aikon

    aikon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Any news on that issue ?
     
  12. linkpool

    linkpool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Aikon,

    same problem for me.

    After sereral mails to acronis support this was the final answer:

    31.10.2007 12:19:
    Unsere Entwickler berichteten, dass mit Acronis True Image 11 Home Notfall CD unmöglich ist, die Backups auf EXT3 Partition zu sichern."
    01.11.2007 12:55:
    "Das ist nicht ein Zufall, dass Ext3 nicht als Ziel-Partition für ein Backup nicht gewählt werden kann, das ist eine Position unserer Management. Wir haben die Produkte, die können Ext3 als ziel nutzen."

    translation:
    "it is impossible to save backups within ATI11 Home on ext3 Partitions"
    "it is not a accident that it's impossible to save on ext3. That's an position" from our management."

    After serveral more mails I decided to buy the workstation edition of TrueImage. After paying about 200 EUR for licences (Update ATI Home 11, Workstation 9.1 Full, Workstation 9.5 Echo Upgrade, second licence Workstation 9.5 Echo) I'll get the same error now with TrueImage Workstation Echo 9.5.

    Details:
    Linux-Server: Saving 80 GB IDE Harddisk (boot, ext3, ext3, swap) with boot-media to a SATA 250 GB (ext3) disk. I'll now get excactly the same error as with TrueImage Home 11:

    Error: E0004000A Error Creating File

    Waiting for an answer from acronis...

    Ralph
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.