can not open any program after using Ewido

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by zxpoppy, Aug 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zxpoppy

zxpoppy Registered Member

Hi, all,

I am a newbie of Ewido.

Last night, I downloaded and used Ewido (4.00172) to scan my computer. It's my first time of using this software and it seems that it worked great---it found many malwares in my computer. I quarantined them all.

I began my scan work at midnight, so I kept my computer turning on. This morning, when I restarted my computer, the screen showed the information as follows:

windows can not find : E:/windows/system/59bi970.exe
    windows can not find "1". Make sure you type the name correctly and try again

So I know there was something wrong, I immediately checked my computer. Oh, my God, I can not open any program in my computer. IE, Opera, AVG...,

I want to re-open the Ewido and examine whether the two files above may be quarantined. But, you can guess, I can not open Ewido too.

So, I am not sure whether Ewido is the only reason that makes me in the trouble. I can not understand how I can delete these files

I appreciate any suggestions on this. Thanks in advance.

2. stapp

stapp Global Moderator

Have you tried opening in safe mode?

3. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

59bi970.exe sounds like a bad file to me, trying to get started with Windows but unable to due to deletion. Maybe it's knocked out your executable file associations?

Can you open progs using the Run box? Click Start/Run and enter the file path to the executable (ie C:\Program Files\ewido anti-spyware 4.0\ewido.exe).

If you can't access the Start button you can press Ctrl Alt Delete, and in TM click File/New Task.

If you can bring up ewido that way I wouldn't recommend unquarantining bad files until you are sure what the problem is.

If your .exe file associations are done for, you can reinstate by downloading the required .exe file here:-