Can no longer edit scheduled tasks

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mcderd, Apr 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    I am running Acronis Trueimage Home 2009

    I wanted to change a scheduled task, when I right click on a task and select edit the following appears:

    Can anyone help ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Has nobody else got this problem?
     
  3. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Can anybody help?
     
  4. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Is there anyone from Acronis viewing that may be able to advise?
     
  5. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    OK then I will change the question

    Why is trueimage trying to connect to the internet anyway?

    Any Acronis people reading?
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,
    I have two questions.

    1. What Ti-build do you use?
    (press ALT-key and the menu appears where you can look for the build number).

    2. Is it a task which was created by Ti2009? Or did you create it under another Ti version (e.g. Ti11)?
     
  7. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Thank you for the response

    The build is (9,709)

    I have two scheduled tasks, both created with Ti2009

    I have noticed that if I keep clicking on the cancel button when the message shown in my first posting appears (need to click about 3 times as the message keeps coming back) then I can get to edit the schedule.
     
  8. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank you for answering my questions.
    Regarding the answeres it seems all ok.

    Can you look into the windows eventlog whether there are some more error messages in the same time when your error message box appears??
     
  9. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for the reply.

    I know how to start the Event Viewer.

    But in which part should I be looking for the error messages?
     
  10. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    I use a German Windows and the names in the list are different to English version.

    In English version you have to look under "Application" and under "System".
     
  11. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    I have looked under

    Windows Logs -> Application
    and
    Windows Logs -> System

    And nothing new appears when the message box appears on screen
     
  12. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    I see: It's a hard nutshell :)

    I think you have to wait for other members here. I hope Acronis_Support notice this thread in the next days.
     
  13. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for your help anyway.

    I have been hoping Acronis Support would help, but nothing as yet.
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mcderd,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please go to the appropriate article and download Acronis Scheduler, which is a special utility to update the scheduler service. Extract the downloaded file and run install.bat. Wait for the process to be completed, reboot your machine and see if the issue persists.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  15. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Hello, I downloaded and installed the Acronis Scheduler as suggested.

    Installed, restarted the PC

    The issue persists, the message shown in my first post still appears.

    Do you have any other ideas?
     
  16. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Since installing the scheduler I get this message every time I start my PC
     

    Attached Files:

  17. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    And what do you choose? Run or Cancel?

    I see that you can uncheck "Always ask before opening this file".
    Do this and the scheduler never ask (I hope...).
     
  18. mcderd

    mcderd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    I unticked always ask

    The clicked run

    Next time I reboot it asks again !
     
  19. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    ok, that's weird...

    Can you look at your Windows firewall?
    Is there an entry of the scheduler?
    If not, create one and give it the correct rights and try again...
     
  20. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mcderd,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please check that Backup Operator and Administrator rights are assigned to your account. Could you please do the following:

    - Go to Start->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Computer Management->Users and Groups->Users;
    - Right click on the user you logged-in and choose "Properties" option;
    - Go to Member Of -> Add;
    - Issue "Administrators" (without quotes) -> click OK, Add -> "Backup operators"(without quotes) and click OK.

    If this doesn't help, please try to disable UAC:

    Disable Windows User Account Control (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> User Accounts -> Turn User Account On or Off -> Uncheck “Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer".

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.