can MalWareBytes Remove viruses?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jmonge, Mar 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    can malwarebytes removes virus in real time with the pro version?is it capable of doing so?i know it is top notch againts spywares/rouges but what about virus/rootkits?thanks in advance;)
     
  2. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Yes, it can

    "Whether you know it or not your computer is always at risk of becoming infected with viruses, worms, trojans, rootkits, dialers, spyware, and malware that are constantly evolving and becoming harder to detect and remove. Only the most sophisticated anti-malware techniques can detect and remove these malicious programs from your computer." -- MalwareBytes

    Source:
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

    EDIT: It's detection is slightly subpar compared to pure AV scanners IMO.
     
  3. CookieCrumbler

    CookieCrumbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    Yes, its an anti-malware remover.

    Anti-malware being everything in general.
     
  4. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    MBAM covers a range of the most prolific malware infectors (of all types) and can remove those in real-time.However it's not extensive in the way that a primary AV such as Avira or Kaspersky is.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thank you all;) so is it advisible to run it with antivirus or can be run alone to block malware/virus?thanks again
     
  6. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    MBAM is supposedly good at removing infections that the big AVs don't catch. Just running MBAM without AV is not recommended.
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    meaning that malwarebytes antimalware will not remove minor infections and only removes major infections?only removes what is critical?
    sorry i ask alot cause i am new to malwarebytes:)
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    so i bougth a licence and as is for life and avira is free then i will have my wife protected for long time without buying yearlly subscription:D are these 2 all she need for regular surfing?thanks
     
  9. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool:thumb:
    look at this set up:wife's pc Prevx Edge paid+MalWareBytes Pro+Avira Free;)
    forgot to mention i have prevx edge too:)
     
  11. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Nice setup. Avira free for viruses, prevx for any rootkits/viruses, and malwarebytes for spyware.

    You may be tempted to change, but resist! :)
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks and dont forget that mbam also removes rogues;)
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    also mbam is life time licence,avira is free,only need to buy prevx every year,it will be nice to have prevx life time:D
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i forgot to mention with these 3 onboard i dont sacrify speed,functionality,etc,etc,her pc is fast as speedy gonzales:thumb: almost no pop ups plus out the box configuration:D ,no rules to make like my pc with the hips on my system:)
     
  15. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Do you have a firewall enabled? That would add security even if it is incoming protection only. I have both a hardware (router) and software (Outpost) firewall running. I also would recommend something for rating websites. I use WOT (web of trust) http://www.mywot.com/ and a modified Hosts file http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm (It is updated monthly). There are a lot of small free things to consider for extra security without slowing down the machine. It is just a matter of finding the right combination's that compliment but not duplicate each other.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i have a router and windows built in firewalls on:)
     
  17. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Looks like you are set.
     
  18. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    With XP why do yo need 2 firewalls ? I guess firewall in router would be sufficient though.
     
  19. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    I run a NAT router and Outpost (for its HIPS capabilities and outbound control). I have the Windows XP firewall turned off. This gives me control if anything bypasses my security and tries to call home.
     
  20. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks for info,i am new to malwarebytes only like a week or so and already love it:thumb: keep up the good work:)
     
  22. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    This was found and removed by MalwareBytes this morning.

    Since January, MalwareBytes has found and removed three items, while SAS has found none. I use both for manual scanning.

    Hope this helps!
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ofcourse if helps,"thanks",cool info:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.