can i run prevx edge with TF beta, and avira premium SS

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by wutsup, Sep 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hi yall, so i just tested out the prevx free with a windows xp32 bit computer in my house and it didnt find any rootkits( was wondering if it can detect hardware rootkits and master boot record rootkits?)or anyhting else so i was pleased. and i heard alot of great things about this program.

    i was just wondering if prevx edge is compatible with vista 64bit sp2 (my main computer) and if its compatible with threat fire 4.6 beta 64bit, and avira premium security suite
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    oh so there is no 64 bit realtime/hips protection in the beta u just linked? and could u tell me if prevx detects the worst rootkits (i.e. hardware, mbr)

    and the other thread doesnt say anythingabout threatfire 64bit beta or avira compatibility but im assuming itll work?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    1. There's no hips in Version 3 of prevx.

    2. Yes it detects the worst Rootkits but note that any solution could miss anything and Prevx does not say that it will detect 100% of all but I feel more than safe with having it!

    3. Give it a try and if you have problems just start a new thread and explain the problems if you have any!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    One note worth mentioning: Prevx isn't a HIPS in the conventional sense but it does use HIPS-like concepts behind-the-scenes. Prevx uses the data gathered from behaviors of programs to automatically detect new threats, and, unlike a HIPS, it automates the answering of the prompts which would occur if it was a "classical" HIPS (which improves usability and reduces user confusion).

    Let me know if you have any questions :)
     
  6. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ok so if i tryout the prevx edge 64 bit beta on my vista 64bit computer, will it be running in real time protection with the "HIPS" like concept and can i remove the detected threats or will it just be an on demand scanner with just detection and no removal like the free version? because im confused to as what triple was saying about the web security is not compatible with 64bit operating systems?
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We have new functionality called Prevx SafeOnline in the release candidate version for Prevx 3.0 for 32bit which currently does not support 64bit, however, Prevx as a whole (realtime protection/scanning/cleanup/etc.) work fine under 64bit.

    In the free version, however, realtime protection and cleanup are not offered - the free evaluation version just provides scanning and notification of threats.

    Let me know if you have any other questions! :)
     
  8. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ok so i just installed the prevx edge 64 bit beta on my system but it says i need a key for removal of deteced items and real time protection is off? is there any way i can get a trial key for like 30 days?
     
  9. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    bumpity bump
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Check your PMs :)
     
  11. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States

    thanks alot, but i have a question do i have to uninstall the beta and use the prevx non beta versoin with this key? or can i directly type in the key in the beta version?
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You can use this directly into either version :)
     
  13. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    Default Re: can i run prevx edge with TF beta, and avira premium SS

    I'd advise against it, reason being all three are Anti-Virus Utilities. Your going
    to experience what I call "How To Make Your Computer A Doorstop" ;)

    Prevx is both Anti-Malware and Anti-Virus.


    Hogndog
     
  14. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    uhh im pretty sure avira is the only antivirus and threatfire and prevx are behavior blocker/hips like. prevxhelp can you reply to this?
     
  15. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    I didn't find out about Prevx Edge being an Anti-Virus utility as well as Anti-Spyware until I checked my Windows Security Center, said I was running two Anti-Virus.

    As for Avira its an Ant-Virus as well as Anti-Spyware Utility, I'm beta testing a new version that's going to be sweet. And no I can't say any more than that. If your able you can sign up to be a beta tester.

    I run with Prevx Edge and a Outpost Firewall, remember you can alwas get an online scaner if you have any doubts.

    Total weight for these two utilities is 35 Mb's no razzal dazzel. ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Does it mean that Prevx should be reported somewhere in Windows Security Center? If so, where? In my case (Vista Business) only Eset and Windows defender are reported under Malware protection fold and Eset under Firewall protection fold. No mention about Prevx at all :(
     
  17. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    Your running a newer version of Windows I'm not familiar with, I'm using XP Pro SP 2. Like I was saying I run Prevx Edge with the Outpost Firewall, when I set Prevx I set it for maximum protection that's not recommended if you have other Ant-Virus Ant-Spyware utilities as far as compatibility is concerned. I've been using the paid version of Prevx two days now, I'm trusting it to take care of everything save the Firewall...

    Post Note: I should have said I have Spyware Blaster as well..
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Thx for your input :thumb:.
    As regards heuristics protection level, I use "high" for the advance heuristics and "medium" for the both (Age and Popularity) program heuristics and so far I have not had any issue. You can try to elevate heuristics protection in such a way and you will see how it goes on your side.

    To PrevxHelp
    Would you kindly clarify Prevx vs. Windows Security Center under Vista Business? Thx in advance.
     
  19. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    The windows Security Center tells you if you have a Firewall and what kind it is. Same thing goes for Automatic Updates that I have adjusted so that I'm the one in control, they keep telling me I need SP 3 well I tried Sp 3 and each and every time it went into a cycle. Anti-Virus utility will show you if your running more than one utility. When I saw it I was surprised but there it was. As for Vista I'm lost mate no clue whatsoever. ... As regards to heuristics protection level I haven't changed it, that's next Thanks for your tip:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  20. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Hi PrevxHelp/Joe (I saw others are familiarly calling you Joe, so may I dare to call you Joe as well?)
    Back to my concern ... you may have overlooked my todays post as regards Prevx and its incorporation into Windows Security Center in Vista. I would appreciate your clarification.
    Thx,
    pegas
     
  21. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey pegas im running prevx on vista home premium 64bit and prevx doesnt show in windows security center. i think thats how its suppose to be.
     
  22. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    OK thx :thumb:. However in Betas discussion some folks mentioned Prevx shows in WSC. So I would like to know if that depends on Windows or rather Prevx version.
     
  23. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hmmmm i doint know but im trying out the beta version 64bit with a 7 day trial key from prevxhelp. i havent tried the official version so i have no idea. maybe prevxhelp can clarify if the beta is uppose to show up in WSC for vista 64bit/32/bit
     
  24. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    Looks like Wutsup answered your question where I couldn't, I'm on Windows XP Pro Sp 2.. A friend of mine had Vista then reverted to his XP Home, I reckon it has its share of issues. Ask me anything about XP I'll be happy to answer if I can mate. :thumb:
     
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    Just to clarify - the Prevx release candidate (build 3.0.4.200 and higher) should integrate into the Windows Security/Action Center provided you have a full license key.

    Prevx is considered an antivirus program, an antispyware program, and a community/cloud antimalware program with behavior monitoring/HIPS components behind-the-scenes.

    Unless there is an incompatibility which we currently aren't aware of, Prevx should integrate into the following categories in the security center:

    Windows XP SP2/SP3:
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - Antivirus (Antispyware doesn't exist)
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus

    Windows Vista SP0:
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - Antivirus + Antispyware
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus + Antispyware

    Between Vista SP0 and SP1, Microsoft changed the Security Center to now use a different format. If you have recently (within the last year or so) installed Windows Vista, you will see Prevx v3.0.1.65 in the security center but if you had installed Vista before then, Prevx may be reported as using an old format to communicate to the security center. This behavior is corrected in the release candidate version but is only "refreshed" if you uninstall/reinstall. If you are currently using the live version and prefer not to use unreleased software, we recommend waiting for our official release of the new version - the security center is the only area not reporting properly but protection is actually loaded.

    Windows Vista SP1:
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - Unsupported integration as antivirus/antispyware
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus + Antispyware

    Windows Vista SP2:
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - Unsupported
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus + Antispyware

    Windows 7 Beta (build 7000):
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - Antivirus + Antispyware
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus + Antispyware

    Windows 7 RC1 (build 7100):
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - Warning about Prevx reporting in a format that is no longer supported
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus + Antispyware correctly reported

    Windows 7 RTM (build 7600):
    Prevx Live version (3.0.1.65) - No security center reporting
    Prevx RC version (3.0.4.200) - Antivirus + Antispyware correctly reported

    We haven't released a software update to Prevx in nearly 5 months which is the reason for the incorrect reporting (in the 5 months, Microsoft has changed the reporting format).

    Please let me know if you have any questions with this or need any clarification! Also, Prevx + TF is not overkill and will not drag down your system further: Prevx has been designed to be compatible and very light with other security products so you shouldn't experience any unnecessary overhead :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.