Can I run MBAM Pro alone?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mortal Raptor, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I am sick and tired of every other AV giving me problems, either extreme false positives, or system slowdown, when I had finally found an AV that doesn't give me false positives and is light (Avira AV Pro) the company decides to make it a bloatware AV with the new launched/driver updater/system optimizer/dropbox/etc.

    So now I am at loss at what to install.....

    I have a license for MBAM Pro (lifetime license) that I never used since I never wanted to run to security solutions together, now the time comes where I am left with no choices but to install MSE which is almost useless as having nothing.......Or........can I just install MBAM Pro and be done with it? Mind you I don't visit shady sites, all my software are legit and I don't use any cracks or what not, and don't visit shady sites except for a few *ahem ahem* sites......

    Would MBAM Pro be enough for me or am I missing something?
     
  2. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Add another layer of protection to it.
    It's not almighty....
     
  3. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    MSE and MBAM makes a great combo. You can add AppGuard or some kind of anti-exe to further tighten up the security.
     
  4. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    1) I knew how to add exceptions in MBAM PRO/MSE before when MBAM was at v1 but now with v2 it has a lot of more EXEs and processes so I don't know what to exclude. Is there an updated guide on how to properly do this?

    2) Since most people on Wilders say that MSE is like having no AV at all, what's the point in even installing it?

    3) Would a setup like MSE/MBAM Pro running together be any heavier on my system than let's say NOD32 or Avira installed on their own? I don't want to slowdown my computer
     
  5. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    why don't try VoodooShield to accompany your MBAM Pro MR?
    Might be good I think
     
  6. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82

    1.You should be able to add exceptions the exact same way under Settings/Malware Exclusions in MBAM.

    2. What people on a forum say and what works out well for you are not always the same thing. Yes, some opinions here seem quite intelligent, but there is also a lot picking favorites and opinions are just that, opinions. MSE does not have the most fantastic reputation, but I do not think it was ever meant to be anything other than basic protection. MSE has been very slow in the past at scanning files, other than that I do not recall any slowdown when I used it.
     
  7. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013

    Right, thank you sir, but you didn't tell me, since MBAM Pro now has many newer files unlike the past which were only 3 files that needed to be added to the exclusions, what exactly must one exclude now? or is it better that I ask on the MBAM forums?
     
  8. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    I have added all processes in exclusions to be on safer side.
     

    Attached Files:

    • mbam.jpg
      mbam.jpg
      File size:
      125.9 KB
      Views:
      169
    • mse1.jpg
      mse1.jpg
      File size:
      116.5 KB
      Views:
      160
    • mse2.jpg
      mse2.jpg
      File size:
      154.8 KB
      Views:
      155
  9. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Thanks a lot boss!
     
  10. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    MBAM+Any 'reasonable' AV, sure.. MSE? No.
     
  11. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    "most people at Wilders" don't say that
    MSE is a very reasonable antivirus, coupled with MBAM will give you top notch protection, low resource usage, low to no FPs
    you'll need nothing else
     
  12. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    that's good to hear, thanks bro
     
  13. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Avast can be setup to act a bit like voodoo shield in hardened/aggressive mode popping up when something is run from downloads or temp dir when you set it like that.

    I have only partially set it up on a different install for downloads dir myself and need to do a little more.
    Should bring down its resource usage a bit.
     
  14. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I would say that running as a Standard User, with MBAM PRO and a good amount of common sense would be quite safe.
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
  16. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    How about teaming it up with Sandboxie to take care of your web browsing security.

    Regards Eck:)
     
  17. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    I agree, tweak the settings to not let media players and such access the internet and you have a pretty solid amount of protection. I am using Panda Cloud and it is not heavy at all nor does it conflict with MBAM as far as I have seen. Here is how I would set up my security:

    Panda Cloud
    Sandboxie Free/Paid (very little difference between the two as far as security goes)
    Chrome with UBlock/AdGuard/ABP and plugins set to "Click to Play

    Done. It is not perfect, my opinion is that it will work well for normal usage.
     
  18. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,066
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Windows 8.1 on Asus Transformer:
    - Windows Firewall also blocking outbound, UAC set to deny elevation of unsigend (through registry tweak)
    - Windows Defender + MalwareBytes Anti-Malware Premium

    When on the move (all data is stored on MicroSD card),
    - Logon as LUA user with parential control (effectively puts a deny execute in user folders)

    I would really be interested how MBAM holds when used with the build-in Windows Defender on Win8
     
  19. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    I'm using the combo for past 4 months and very pleased with its performance.
     
  20. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Great! I'll try it out, I hope my perfect AV search will come to an end......tired of constantly switching between AVs only to discover the quirks it has
     
  21. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I’ve never found an av that detects more than mbam in real life usage, and its usually mbam that has the definitions for that dodgy malware first in my experience.I would have no hesitation in using mbam rather than an av,although i would also use sandboxie with it.Used mbam to day to get rid of browser hijacker that was redirecting searches.Hijacked chrome and IE11 .NIS let it straight in.Only concern i had with mbam realtime in the past was that i found it heavy to run...dont know what its like now though?
     
  22. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    You can use HMP for startup scan also.
     
  23. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    You can certainly use MBAM Pro alone, but I understand your apprehension! Like others, I'd recommend limiting your attack surface (limited browser plugins, etc), using Adblock (Malware Domains list), and also to make sure you're behind some kind of hardware firewall.

    Over the past two years I've trialled Sandboxie alone, Sandboxie+MBAM, and MBAM alone on different machines - as well as challenged these setups with browser exploits and local trojans.

    For starters it's difficult to get to sites known to be hosting exploits with AB/Malware Domains and MBAM IP filtering enabled. With those disabled, I haven't been able to get exploit kits to run until I put on vulnerable versions of Java. Sandboxie and MBAM both consistently have stopped anything from running.

    In normal usage, I simply don't get challenges to the system i.e. neither MBAM file system protection or Sandboxie have ever had to stop anything running. How much of that is due to IP/domains filtering, or my browsing habits, or lack of vulnerable software to exploit? I honestly don't know.

    It's not an ironclad approach, but it's matches my usage and perception of threats. As long as you understand the mechanisms of infections then you should be able to manage the risk this way. I love not having an antivirus slowing everything down.
     
  24. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I use MBAM Pro,Sandboxie free, WinPatrol Plus and have been pretty happy with the combo.
    If you have MBAM configured for real-time scanning, malicious website protection, and to start with Windows, expect longer boot and internet access times.
    Not serious delays in my opinion, but there nonetheless.
    No issues with Firefox or derivatives so far; can't advise about Chrome or IE 9 and above- I don't use them.
    No issues I am aware of when running XP or Windows 7.
    No advice regarding W-8/8.1 or W-10.
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You should try Webroot SecureAnywhere. It's the lightest, fastest and most effective security solution.
    No MBAM alone is not enough.
     
Loading...