Can I Restore just the Registry in TI9?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MPSAN, Jun 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Hello All:

    Is there any way I can just restore the registry from an image made with TI9? I was thinking I could mount the image and somehow extract the registry. Can this be done?

    We removed some stuff that should not be removed as none of the programs that require RPC services will run. RPC is running, but TI, antivirus stuff or other aps will not run.

    TIA
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Have you got any Windows system restore restore points available that date prior to your adverse changes?
    Using one of those could get things back in order very quickly.

    Xpilot
     
  3. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well, no. I had looked yesterday and found this feature was off. I turned it on...but it is too late now!

    I wonder if a repair from the XP CD will fix the registry?
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Probably, but you would have to reinstall all your apps, etc.

    Where the Registry is in XP is definitely not clear or simple. One reference says this :In Windows 2000 and Windows XP, the Registry is stored in several Hives, located in the \windows\system32\config and \Documents and Settings\{username} folders."

    There are lots of files in those two locations, especially under Username.

    If you copied all the files out of the backup image, you'd probably have to copy them into the locations shown after booting from a BartsPE or Knoppix disk since Windows won't let you replace these files while it is running.

    I think you'dbe better off to restore the image. Of course, you could copy data to another drive or partition and restore that after restoring the image. Any programs installed since the backup image was made would have to be reinstalled.
     
  5. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well, I think they say that an XP repair will leave the apps and data alone.

    Anyway, can I restore and leave the MBR alone? I believe I can restore the image that has three partitions (XP, Linux and swap) and just check XP and not disk1 or the Linux partitions. I would like to leave the MBR alone.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can just restore the XP partition.

    If you want the Registry in a more workable file, you could create a new backup image of the XP partition, restore the old XP partition, boot into it and export the Registry to a .REG file (text). Save that file somewhere besides the XP partition. Then restore the current XP partition.

    Now you have a copy of the registry you can look through. Maybe you can find the entries you need and import them.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That's correct but you lose your Windows Updates.

    Sure. Just restore your WinXP partition. Your MBR will remain intact. But I'd expect the MBR in the image to be the same as the one on your HD. I never restore the MBR but could I ask why you don't want to restore it either.
     
  8. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Now that you have re-enabled Windows system restore be aware that left to its own devices it will eventually use up 12% of the drive. The two main options are to limit the size to a smaller precentage or delete all but the latest one by using a Windows disk clean up option.
    I usually do that before my next scheduled backup is due to run.

    Xpilot
     
  9. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The registry is not a single file but a whole handful of files. However, as pointed out, you can save all the settings in the registry of a particualr machine by exprting them to file. You can then import that file into the registry to get back all those settings. However, if you have any added keys since the exprt was done, I don't think the import will necessarily delete those keys.

     
  10. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Yup, I was thinking of doing just that. Will take a while, however, but I think I know where to look.

    P.S. I also have the problem where I can boot from rescue CD and not log on to networked system, but on the system I cant log on to, I cna boot CD and log into other.

    I guess TI requires user/pass?

     
  11. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    I have Linux on the system and the MBR from the b/u set is different.
     
  12. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Good suggestion..thanks!
     
  13. Pulsar55

    Pulsar55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    KY
    What I think you want is a little program that's FREE called ERUNT. Google it to find the link to download. It's very reliable, easy to use, and will allow to restore your entire registry. I use it to automatically backup the registry daily. Xp's System restore can be a bit finicky at times and that's scary when you want a rock solid registry backup!
    Pulsar55
     
  14. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Yup...got that yesterday. Even tried xp repair pro 2007. Well, I may just do a quick restore from TI from about 6 weeks ago. I KNOW my problem was June 14th. OH well...I will resolve this yet. Too bad I can not access b/u on lan as TI keeps asking for user/pass! I have an external I can move it to, however!
     
  15. Pulsar55

    Pulsar55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    KY
    Good Luck!!
    Pulsar55
     
  16. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Very very useful program ... I use that when I'm trying out software that I may not keep. It ensures that even when I uninstall said software that I can restore my Registry without having any traces of the software left in it.
     
  17. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well, I just resolved one issue. Remember I said that the Rescue CD would ask fow a user/password on the system I wanted to restore to? Well I got around it! When I select the filename of the archive, I used the form \\Computer Name\shared drive name\TI file name.tib and it OPENED!

    P.S. Windows repair did NOT work!
     
  18. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You might have to do an "upgrade in place" instead of a repair installation, but I'd be concerned that this might not fix Registry keys that were manually removed.

    Upgrade in Place: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315341
     
  19. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well, I did method 2 and it did not work. I am starting to think it is not a reg issue, but if it were a missing file (as the error message states when trying to start a service that needs RPC) the repair did not find it.

    I am now restoring my XP partition from a B/U image, but am leaving the MBR alone. If I have to, I can do the restore of just the MBR and track 0.


     
  20. dfenn_x384

    dfenn_x384 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    30

    ok, you can use the xp cd to repair your window computer. i did it once and it left all my data and software and just fixed up my pc. i would advise that you should backup your data first, just in case
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.