Can I (or should I) run SpywareGuard with my setup?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by terrytturtle, Aug 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. terrytturtle

terrytturtle Registered Member

I read the rider thoughfully mentioned by Javacool re SpywareGuard being a work-in-progress and possible conflicts with other security software. Like many people I have now started running a raft of programs to fight viruses, trojans and scumware etc.

I have used Nortons Internet Security; Ad-aware and Spybot S&D for some time. After recently being hit by some nasties I now have added Trojan Hunter (with its TrojanHunter Guard); HijackThis and of course SPYWAREBLASTER (which I liked that much I subscribed for the auto-updates). I run Windows XP Pro on a fairly new, performance system.

I would like to install SpywareGuard. Two questions please which I ask because I am a newbie when it comes to the technical stuff:

1. Anyone know of any reason why I should NOT install SpywareGuard given my existing setup? (E.g potential conflicts or I don't need it because I run TrojanGuard; and

2. If it's ok or desirable to use SpywareGuard, are there any recommended options / preferences / configurations I should use for these programs to live harmoniously and work efficiently at what they do best?

Any comments would be appreciated.

2. dangitall

dangitall Registered Member

Mornin', and welcome to Wilders!

So far as I am aware, there should be no conflicts between SpywareGuard and any of the programs you mention. If you use IE then, by all means, install SpywareGuard and give it a shot.

3. siliconman01

siliconman01 Registered Member

I am running SpywareGuard 2.2 with TrojanHunter V3.9, Spy Sweeper V3.0,
    AdAware6 Plus V6.181, NIS 2004, SpywareBlaster 3.2, Process Guard 2.0, HiJackThis V1.98.1, TDS-3, Port Explorer V1.8, and others.

My OS is Windows XP-SP2-RC2 Build 2162, Home Edition.