Can I make a restorable image of the boot partition

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rhendrix9, Jun 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rhendrix9

    rhendrix9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I guess I did this backwards but..

    I ordered TI2009 yesterday, because of all the good msgs all around.
    Then I downloaded the trial to get started.

    I have a 250 gig SATA HD divided into 4 partitions. (there is a second 640 gig also).

    The Windows XP partition is the first 50 gigs.
    It is a fresh install with just the programs I want. I would like to save it just like it is so I can just restore my machine from this setup whenever I need to.

    I used the backup creating a .tib file, (I thought I wanted to use clone disk but it would not let me clone just a single partition). I backup up to a folder on the 2nd hard drive.

    to test it ot I tried to restore it today, it failed... It passes validation! So what am I missing? Can I not restore fom a second HD? If it validates, why can't I restore it.

    I'm wondering if I chose the right solution.
     
  2. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    where did you try to restore it?
    Usually if it backups without errors it is a good backup. I never validate in 3 years with no problems. It's a waste of time.
    More than likely there might be a hardware compatibilty problem with the linux drivers.
    You can try making a bartpe (with the true image plugin) and use that to perform the restoration. Or you can restore the image onto an external hard drive, this bypasses the linux drivers and uses windows drivers. This is how I restore when I have problems, it always works.

    Image backups are just as reliable as clones, that's all I ever do.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    rhendrix9,

    Did you initiate the restore from the TI boot CD?
     
  4. rhendrix9

    rhendrix9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I tried to restore it to drive c: the active boot partition.

    I received no errors during backup, I'll try backing up to a different drive.\
    (Can I move the current backup?)
    Thanks
     
  5. rhendrix9

    rhendrix9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    NO, I don't/ have not made a TI Boot CD
     
  6. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    When you say that you downloaded the trial did you use that to try to restore from Windows? You should be aware that when TI restores from Windows it boots into the same Linux OS as the rescue disk.

    Are you sure the trial allows restore from Windows? I can't remember, I think you can only create a image from Windows and only restore from the rescue CD

    The Linux OS does not always "see" new hardware and chipsets etc. that is why you are recommended to make the rescue CD boot from it and make sure all your hardware can be accessed. The usual solution is to make either a BartPE or VistaPE disk, which as they use Windows drivers should be able to recognise your hardware.
     
  7. rhendrix9

    rhendrix9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I just completed a successful restore (sortof) using the trial from windows, by restoring from my first hd instead of the 2nd hd.. I still need to test it out, but at lest one application's registration information was corrupted and I have had to re-install that app.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.