Can I image a dual boot system to install on multiple computers

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jaymes1, Jun 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaymes1

jaymes1 Registered Member

I work as a volunteer in a Community Centre (a charity Org with no I.T. support and limited funding). We have funding to buy 8 new computers and all will be the same hardware configuration. We want to run classes for beginners in XP and Vista. We have Volume licensing, the machines will be bought without operating systems. I will be installing those. Hence the need for imaging.
    There will be 8 users accounts on each partition x 8 computers = 128 user accounts SIGH

I can install Vista first, and then XP on a virtual partition (eg Vmware) but would prefer a dual boot system. To revert to a clean image at the end of each term or in the case of problems (virus etc), I would like to setup 1 computer then make an image of each partition or if possible the entire disk, then use those images to install on the other computers.

The computers will be networked to share printers, Internet and files but that is as far as my networking knowledge goes (no server, each computer downloads updates individually. I don't know how to push an image out to other computers over a network so a bootable image is what I need)

My questions is, can I make an image of the Vista partition and then an image of the XP partition, on boot-able disks, that then can then be used to install Vista and XP on the other clean machines?

Is it maybe possible to image the whole hard-drive with both partitions already setup? Much the preferable choice.

What about the need for sysprep in either of the above options?

I am researching the best options for us at the moment before I purchase imaging software. Does True image do what I have explained above, and is anyone aware of a page showing how to do the above processes if I indeed buy True image for our Centre.